DON'T BE A VEGAN [OR ITS OK, BUT READ THIS FIRST]

in #food7 years ago (edited)

I like Vegans. I am not one, but I do understand where they are coming from. I like them because they take a stand for something. And they are serious enough about it to do something about it. Food is a sensitive matter. Not just in terms of people's tastes and the necessity thereof (everyone has to eat). 

Also the social aspect. People may feel offended if you don't like their food. They might feel less offended if you eat it and don't like it. But don't show that you don't like it. Anyway, vegan food I think may be underrepresented when it comes to food pics on Steemit. So I am posting this pic below. 

I didn't take it or anything. And I don't even know if it is vegan. Maybe someone can help me. But it looks pretty vegan to me, and it is a picture :-)

source: pixabay.com under CC0 License

If you are a vegan, tell me if this is vegan food, and why or why not! Did you know that if you are a vegan you will need a B12 supplement? That's because only animal foods have them. That's the only place where you can get Vitamin B12. 

Vitamin B12 occurs naturally only in animal foods, so you'll want to stock up on a variety of B12-fortified foods as well as a B12 supplement. B12 keeps the body's nerve and blood cells healthy and helps make DNA, so deficiencies can lead to tiredness, weakness, constipation, loss of appetite, weight loss (the bad kind), nerve problems, and depression. To find out if you need to up your intake, ask your doctor for a simple blood draw. 

Source: 

12 Things You Need to Know Before Going Vegan: Switching to a vegan diet? Here's what you need to know before making the change. By K. Aleisha Fetters on January 21, 2014

THANK FOR READING LADIES AND GENTLEMEN! I OFTEN POST ABOUT MARITIME SHIPPING, POLITICS, AND LANGUAGES

I hope you have a wonderful day and please UPVOTE, RESTEEM, COMMENT, AND/OR FOLLOW ME IF YOU LIKE THIS TYPE OF CONTENT! MY BLOG ON STEEMIT IS AT https://steemit.com/@pjcswart

signature
Team South Africa banner designed by @bearone
Sort:  

Actually, it is said that b12 defiance due to diet is a lie.
There are individuals who are vegans ( eats nothing but plants, no honey, no milk, nothing) without any supplements or yeast - they don't have any deficiency and they have no illnesses.
How weird...
I think that the plants contain something, some enzymes, bacteria, and microorganism that can process and create B12 just as fine as any animal food.
Think of it.
They are also 'animals', just smaller...

I wouldn't be surprised if you are right. We are so perfectly designed. I think we are capable of a lot more than we think or realize. What made you become a vegan, I assume you are one?

Nope, I am not vegan, I am not even a vegetarian, still my diet is 95% plant origin. You CAN really make burgers from something other than an animal and they taste the same. If you make it home, those from fast food taste like crap.

But, I have this feeling that one day in a (very near) future we will be inclined towards either the plant food or plant food in combination with some lower animals ( like the snails, shells, insects etc) because we won't have much choice.

The necessary resources to grow an animal are just ridiculous. And then you have some sort of a gruesome illness and you lost the entire investment, plus animals can either die in peril or you have to deal with it.
The same can happen with the ice and crops, but its much easier to plow a field full of dead potatoes, then a plow a field full of dead cows.

Have you seen The Martian?

Yes, a few times, why?

"A field full of dead potatoes".

Nice post!

Thanks, what did you like best about it? Thanks for connecting on here. I hope you have WONDERFUL day! Following you!

upvoted

Thanks! I hope you have a WONDERFUL day!

Nutritional yeast has B12 and it is not made from animal bi products. It has a cheesy taste as well...so all vegans can enjoy! great post!

Thank you so much for that. I appreciate your feedback very much. I was surprised when I read that in the article I must say. My mom used to give me Brewer's Yeast when I was a kid.

I hope YOU have a WONDERFUL day! FOLLOWING YOU!!!

Nice post. Resteemed.

Thanks I'm following you. I hope YOU have a WONDERFUL day!

I've been cutting down a meat, limiting to once/twice a week on average. I wonder if I still need a B12 in that case? I also have plenty of dairy (Kefir usually) and eggs ...wayyy too many eggs.... if that makes a difference.

"It looks pretty vegan to me" hah! Made me laugh :D

No I don't think so, someone just said yeast has B12. Maybe check Brewer's Yeast out.
http://www.webmd.boots.com/vitamins-and-minerals/brewers-yeast

achso gut zu wissen, danke nochmal

Yes indeed!

Hello @pjcswart

Decided to drop by after seeing your comment on my post.

I have never understood that Vegan stuff, it is only vegetarians I know of.

The post was properly written though and I love your sense of humor.

Followed You, maybe we will figure out how you made it into Havard together.

@ogochukwu

Yeah maybe! Thanks I'm following you. I hope YOU have a WONDERFUL day!

I've often thought about going Vegan but somehow I just don't have the will to cut out some of my favourite foods.

But how will you get protein?

That's what's holding me back. Nothing like a good cut of meat. :)

I like steak.

I agree. I found a book you might like. My Mystery Ships.

Sounds like something I would like, where is it available from?

I have no idea. My aunt gave me a copy. Its about these ships that the British used to shoot down German U Boats in World War One. The disguised themselves as civilian vessels. The crew wore woman's clothing from the waist up.

Thanks for the information I will do a search, with a bit of luck I will find it on Bid or Buy.

Good luck I hope you find it!

oh wao delicous

Yeah I know!

Dish looks tasty and yummy. thanks for sharing.

You're welcome! Thanks I'm following you. I hope YOU have a WONDERFUL day!

Thanks for following me I have already followed you sir. upvoted you. Have a nice day.
Have a look into my blog, you may like any of my posts :-) keep voting @piyushkansal

OK whats your best one?

Thanks! I hope you have WONDERFUL day! Following you!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 66631.72
ETH 3487.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.71