Quinoa Pasta with Veggies Galore

in #food6 years ago

The pasta in this dish is not your usual carb-loaded empty calories of regular pasta dishes. That's because it is made of quinoa! This makes it nutrient rich, fiber full, and protien-licious. While it is very similar in taste to regular pasta, I must admit it had a chewier texture to it, so if you are not a fan of chewy pasta, you can always substitute regular rotini in this dish.

I tend to make a pasta dish like this when I am out of ideas and want something filling, but also trying to sneak vegetable servings into everyone's dinner. And it works, no one was any wiser that with each bite, they were receiving a hefty serving of vegetables. My rule of thumb with this dish is to add whatever veggies I have on hand.

Ingredients:

  • 4 cups prepared quinoa pasta
  • 1 cup green peas
  • 1/4 cup red onion, chopped
  • 1 clove garlic, minced
  • 1 cup kale, chopped
  • 1 cup spinach chopped
  • 3 carrots, sliced crosswise
  • 1 tomato, diced
  • juice of 1/2 lemon
  • 2 tablespoons olive oil
  • 1/4 cup shredded parmesan, plus more for serving
  • salt and pepper to taste
  1. In a large pan, heat 1 tablespoon of the olive oil over medium heat. Add onions and carrots, cook for 3 minutes, stirring occasionally.
  2. Add peas and garlic, cook for 1 minutes. Add kale and spinach to the pan, and cook until they have wilted, about 3 more minutes.
  3. Turn off heat, stir pasta and tomatoes in to veggie pan. Drizzle remaining olive oil on pasta and veggies, stir to coat. Add salt and pepper to taste.
  4. Sprinkle with parmesan and squeeze lemon juice into pan. Stir once more before serving.
  5. Serve warm with a sprinkle of parmesan on top.
Sort:  

Your dish looks tasty

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

I'm liking how quinoa is getting mixed into pastas and breads and pizza doughs and such. More protein! That pasta salad looks delicious. It looks very summery to me

Posted using Partiko Android

Your dish are always tempting to always have a taste

Hadn't heard of quinoa before here in uganda

Posted using Partiko Android

Dish is really look like delicious and want to have it bit. 👍👍

Looks yummy and healthy

I like your post so much that I think this post's ingredients can be made from a great meal.

Yummie!
Now I am hungry 😋
Resteemed my dear
Looks delicious

This really made me crave for pasta. Maybe should I try this out tomorrow after I buy the ingredients. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 63077.53
ETH 2471.91
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66