New Mexican Posole- Vegetarian

in #food5 years ago

Posole is one of those hearty New Mexican dishes that I grew up eating, but have never found a good vegetarian version of the dish on a menu. Before soup season slips away from us, I wanted to try my hand at a veg version of the dish, using pinto beans in place of thy typical shredded beef.

Hominy is of course the star of the show. If you are unfamiliar with hominy, they are dried corn kernels that have been treated to be more easily digested. They offer a delightful texture to dishes like this one, with a unique puffy chewiness that is hard to explain if you haven’t tried hominy before.

This stew is perfectly spicy, and because of the hominy and beans, it’s amazingly filling too. Perfect for these last few days of winter, to warm you from the inside out.

Ingredients:

  • 1 can pinto beans, drained and rinsed
  • 1 can hominy, drained and rinsed
  • 1 tablespoon olive oil
  • ¼ cup chopped green chile
  • 4 cups vegetable broth
  • 1 can diced tomatoes
  • ¼ cup diced yellow onion
  • 1 minced garlic clove
  • 1 teaspoon red chile powder
  • 1 teaspoon ground cumin
  • salt and pepper to taste
  1. In a large stock pot, heat olive oil over medium heat. Add onions and cook for 2 minutes. Add garlic and green chile, cook for extra 2 minutes.
  2. Add vegetable broth, tomatoes, cumin, and red chile powder. Cook, stirring occasionally, over medium heat for 15 minutes.
  3. Add hominy and pinto beans, salt and pepper to taste. Cook for 5 additional minutes then remove from heat.
  4. Serve warm with a sprinkle of cheddar or a dollop of sour cream if desired.
Sort:  

Being a New Mexican, I love reading this.

This looks like my kind of a recipe. Easy to follow and fast. I'll give this a try. Thanks @pinkspectre.

That looks soooooo good. I have never even heard of hominy but it sounds really interesting. I thought that was a picture of some sort of sea food, like a type of crab or something. Interesting that its corn. I would have never guessed that.

Posted using Partiko Android

Wow after such a long time I found some vegetarian dish. That seems to be healthy and tasty.

It look great

Oh yummo!!
It will be winter in 3 months in my part of the world.
I shall try this with a nice crusty healthy bread.
Thankyou for sharing, I enjoyfollowing your posts 🍵🍞😊

I enjoy following yours as well!

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Looks great! To bad beans make me toot

Posted using Partiko iOS

Looks really good! I've never had a stew with hominy before. Putting this on my "to make list"!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64107.66
ETH 3148.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.84