Coriander/Cilantro

in #food6 years ago

Well, I just realized cilantro and coriander are the same thing. HUH! Obviously it is my wife who writes all of the cooking-related posts! In Britain Australia and other English speaking countries, the leaves of the herb are called coriander, while here in the US, we use the Spanish more often - cilantro. Many people love cilantro, but that is thanks to a quirk in genetics that allows a certain flavor/chemical profile to be broken down. To quite a few people without this inherited trait, cilantro tastes like soap, or just gross. It is interesting to see an ethnic breakdown of this; the following are percentages of people who taste soap when they eat the herb according to a study: East Asians 21%, Caucasians 17%, Africans 14%, South Asians 7%, and under 5% for Hispanics and people from the Middle East. (Middle-Easterners?)

Of course, adding to the confusion is the fact that the seeds of the plant are another popular culinary herb, with an entirely different flavor and smell. Elsewhere called coriander seeds, in America it is sometimes referred to as just coriander, which can make things confusing for a Brit or Aussie doing some shopping at Kroger. Cilantro has a fragrant, citrusy taste and refreshing smell (at least for some folks) while coriander seed is nuttier and spicier, with a warmer aroma.

Nutritionally speaking, the seeds and leaves are quite different as well. The seeds are packed with minerals such as manganese iron, magnesium and calcium, as well as smaller amounts of trace minerals like selenium and copper. The leaves are mostly water, so they have much lower mineral content, but are high in vitamins A, C and K. Among some of the claims for health benefits of the herb include anti-inflammation and reduction of heart issues, including reducing blood clotting and blood pressure and lowering blood sugar. Both leaves and seeds have been shown to have antibacterial properties as well, and have been used effectively for UTI's in animal studies.

Sort:  

Coriander is one of my favourites. If I had garden it would be there :) nice post.

Fortunately, I am not afflicted with the soap-cilantro gene, but that is not the only plant that has a weird taste-gene association. I cannot stand the smell or the taste of papaya! My ex and my kids loved it, but to me it always smelled like vomit. I started referring to the fruit as the vomit-fruit.

But then, not too long after, I found out there is a genetic reason for the smell. Some people, much like the soap and cilantro, just taste and smell vomit when they eat papaya. I am one of those oh-so-lucky ones. Fortunately, my kids are not and they get to savor the taste of the vomit-fruit all they like.

I will be in the other room though.

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Coriander All parts of the plant are edible but the fresh leaves and the dried seeds the parts most traditionally used in cooking Coriander is used in cuisines throughout the world

The first few times I had something with cilantro in it (as it was not commonly used where I was raised) I thought I didn't like it because it always seemed to over power everything else that was in whatever dish it was in. Then I moved to Texas for 6 years where there is a lot of Tex-Mex food and learned how it should really be used..... sparingly. It has a strong taste, so the key is to be conservative in your recipes (and then add as neccessary). In the right amount, it adds an amazingly fresh taste to many dishes. I love it now.... .done right. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.027
BTC 60654.57
ETH 2343.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48