Amazing Chocolate Cake

in #food6 years ago

There are two kinds of people: those who prefer chocolate cake and those who prefer vanilla. Thankfully, everyone in my family is of the former mindset; I come from a long line of chocolate lovers. That is why every birthday in my family is celebrated with this rich, moist, amazing chocolate cake.

20180901_235137.jpg

Ingredients:

  • 2 cups sugar
  • ¾ cup cocoa powder
  • 1 ¾ cups flour
  • 1 ¼ teaspoon baking soda
  • 1 ¼ teaspoon baking powder
  • ¼ teaspoon salt
  • 2 room temperature eggs
  • 1 and ⅛ cup milk
  • 2 teaspoons vanilla extract
  • 1 cup hot water
  • ½ cup canola oil
  1. Heat oven to 350 ℉. Grease two 6 inch round pans with with butter and cocoa powder, set aside.
    2.In a large mixing bowl, stir together flour, sugar, cocoa powder, baking soda, baking powder, and salt. Stir until well combined.
  2. Add oil, eggs, milk and vanilla to dry mixture. With an electric mixer, beat on medium speed until smooth.
  3. Using a wooden spoon, stir in hot water. The addition of the water will make the batter very thin.
  4. Pour batter into prepared cake pans, batter should not exceed ¾ of pans volume (if you have extra batter, consider making cupcakes).
  5. Bake for 30 minutes, toothpick inserted into center of cakes will come out clean when cakes are finished baking. Allow cakes to cool in their pans for 10 minutes before transferring them to a wire rack.
  6. Cool for 2 hours before frosting.

I like to frost this cake with my homemade vanilla buttercream, but it is great with any frosting!

Sort:  

for me, cake symbolize the sweetness of life, in our self, our family, etc. and the relationship we build that make it sweeter and beautiful :)

great post! :)

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Chocolate cake is the best cake! Chocolate anything really....

yummmmm.....

I bake a chocolate cake from scratch every week

I like chocolate cake, but when having ice cream, I prefer to have one scoop of chocolate and one scoop of vanilla.l

Exelent! thanks. :D

Now, I am even more hungry for cake. My mom usually makes chocolate cake for my birthday, but most of the family really likes white or lemon flavors.

I dont like it

I want cake now =( I'll give this one a try.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62914.22
ETH 3108.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.88