Food Photography: mango ataulfo, one of the most delicious fruits ever

in #food6 years ago (edited)

Hi there my Steemit friends and followers!

It has already been about a month since I left my tropical paradise in Mexico and returned to Europe but there are just so many things I keep missing every single day.

The super sweet and juicy tropical fruits is definitely one of them. During our stay in the Caribbean, I particularly fell in love with a mango cultivar known as the ataulfo. Sometimes also called the yellow mango or the honey mango, the ataulfo is relatively small (usually weighing in between 200 and 250 grams), with somewhat oblong shape and distinctive golden-yellow skin.

One of the most popular and common Mexican cultivars of the mango, the ataulfo has a very strong aroma and an incredibly rich, sweet flavor. The ataulfo is harvested from late March or early April to October, which is also when the price of this fruit can drop to as low as 10 Mexican Pesos (0.5 USD) per kilo!

I think I will not be exaggerating if I say we ate hundreds (if not thousands) of these mangos during our time in Mexico :)

IMG_20170417_122042.jpg

Click on the image for full view

I took this photo in Walmart in Playa del Carmeno, Mexico. This is also my entry for today´s #foodphotography contest hosted by @juliank.


Thank you for visiting my blog. If you like posts about #nature, #animals, #traveling and discovering secrets and beauties of the #world, make sure to follow me as these are the topics I mostly write about.
If you enjoy my content, feel free to upvote and resteem :) I don’t always follow back but I upvote original and interesting comments on my posts. Have a wonderful day and Steem on!

Sort:  

I really want to try one of these now, but I don't think I will ever be able to find one where I live.

Sorry about that. I am sure you have some tropical fruits in Norwegian supermarkets too but honestly, the taste of fruits exported from such long distances cannot be really compared to what it tastes like in local markets where the fruits are distributed within just hours after being picked, fully ripen.

Yeah, I'm sure it's a lot better to eat when it's freshly picked. Most Norwegian people are really conservative with their fruits, so we generally don't have any exotic fruits for sale in most supermarkets here. And I think it is also crazy expensive to import these things from Mexico when very few people would buy them.

Yeah, I'm sure it's a lot better to eat when it's freshly picked. Most Norwegian people are really conservative with their fruits, so we generally don't have any exotic fruits for sale in most supermarkets here. And I think it is also crazy expensive to import these things from Mexico when very few people would buy them.

"Walmart in Playa del Carmeno, Mexico" @phortun? Please tell me it ain't so!

Those mangoes look a little like potatoes. I've never seen them before but will be looking out for them now. They sound lovely! 😊

I was also surprised to see Walmarts in Mexico. They are in every bigger town... But yeah, you should be looking out for these mangos as they are probably the best fruit I have ever tasted ;)

Pěkná fotka "brambor" :D Fakt jsem si myslela, než jsem článek rozklikla a přečetla si, co to je za plodinu, že jsi prostě vyfotil brambory :D

Chápu, když jsem tuhle odrůdu viděl poprvé, napadlo mě to stejné :))

muy bonita foto se ve el mango en abundancia aqui en Venezuela sobran los arboles de mangos te invito un día a mi país Venezuela y veras que dios te bendigaherman0o @porphortun

Gracias :)

Tohle vidět u nás v obchodě, tak bych se asi divil, co to je za brambory ;-)

...a ještě víc by ses divil, když by sis doma ty "brambory" uvařil :)))

World of Photography
>Visit the website<

You have earned 6.50 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.30
Block time: 2018-05-21T14:41:48
Account Level: 5
Total XP: 1639.06/3200.00
Total Photos: 142
Total comments: 226
Total contest wins: 12
And have also received a 0.45 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

You just received a Tier 0 upvote! Looking for bigger rewards? Click here and learn how to get them or visit us on Discord

Una de mis frutas favoritas!! infinidades de recetas y montones de tipos de mango en todo el mundo.. pero sin duda el de Venezuela, para mi, es el mejor! saludos ..

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 63283.09
ETH 2463.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54