You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: SCRAMBLED EGGS WITH FORAGED FINDS: FIRST FOOD FORAGE OF 2018

in #food6 years ago

I'm fairly new to foraging. When I moved to my current place in rural western Missouri, I saw a bunch of cool plants I'd no idea what they were. On Facebook I found a group called missouri mycological society, another called wild edibles of Missouri and then another called native plants of Missouri ( I think). So, in 2016 I began learning what plants were what. I learned that the tiny purple prairie lilacs, chickweed, dandelion, bergamot, wild garlic, yarrow, curly dock, plantain, and a variety of mushrooms were edible. More importantly, plants that were either invasive or poisonous on my property, such as hemlock, winter creeper, and a couple varieties of thistle. It was really facinating to learn how much I had here to eat if I wanted. Also a little terrifying about the poisonous and water hemlock. I have much more to learn. It's a wild meadow here, at least last year as we did not keep sections mowed as usual. Anyway, thanks for checking my post and the comment. Much appreciated

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 61362.63
ETH 2454.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56