Friday Thai Day

in #food7 years ago (edited)

Another end of week is here. Today I had my rest day - no work, no gym, no cooking. Just a book by the pool, then a walk to stretch a bit and lunch in between. Surprisingly, my husband was in a mood to go for something a bit exotic and try a Thai restaurant. There's one just around the corner, it's called Little Bangkok.

20180119_170852.jpg

I tried seafood dim sum and also a noodle bowl with roasted duck. The original name of the dish was way too complicated for me to remember.

I was struggling with chopsticks for some time and then just used fork instead. I'll learn to use them one day.

Everything was so tasty and full of flavour. I tried Thai food before but it never tasted as good as this time.

I really wanted to try one of the sweets so I chose tako - a dessert made from sweet tapioca and water chestnut in a coconut cream. Yummy and really beautiful, served in perfectly cut banana leaves.

20180119_173954.jpg

It was the first time I heard about water chestnut and I wasn't too familiar with tapioca either. It tasted a bit like rice pudding with coconut and fruit but so flavourful and not too sweet. I googled water chestnut to learn about this plant, apparently it's very common in Chinese cuisine. Maybe Chinese is the choice for next weekend. I'm glad we chose this place, even today I learned something new.

Sort:  

Hi @penticton :-)
First of all, the pictures of all foods make me hungry ..they look so yummy and pretty in the same time :-)

I also love seafood tim sum & Noodle roasted duck but they are not original Thai food. I think this restaurant might served both of Thai & Chinese food ? maybe ? :-)

I would recommend you try the authentic "Thai food" which we cook with lot of different herbs, we also use the pure coconut milk to be the ingredient for both of main dish and dessert ... :-) Real thai food have the balance taste. And the menu that will recommend are shown below :

  1. Menu rice --> try "Pad-Kra-Pow" (seafood / beef) are the best
  2. Menu Noodle --> try "Pad Thai" (again seafood) sooo delicious
  3. Menu Curry --> try "Red Curry" (chicken / beef) is very good
  4. Menu Dessert --> Hmmm I think if you like coconut milk Umm maybe "Mango Sticky Rice" I think you will love it

And in case you don't like spicy hot.. just let the waitress know and the chef can cook mild for you (I told you this because most of Thai food are ummm "Spicy Hot" lol but delicious :-)

Give a try and I will look forward to read one day on your post that you like Thai food or not , ok? I followed you already anyway :-)

Have a wonderful day
T.J. :D

don't forget the larp and yum. they might "translate" it to beef salad on the menu but it's really not a salad. it's steak or ground beef with lime, pepper, and onion and maybe mint? (but probably not mint)

if you can handle a little heat, this is really a great flavor combination. on a bed of jasmine rice of course!

Oh yes !! @lemonshrimp :D You right !! "Larp and yum" also our signature Thai food, for people who like spicy hot shouldn't miss it :D yummmmm :D

Thanks for this comment and menu suggestions, I'll definitely try it out next time and let you know in one of the future posts.

You welcome @penticton :D
And I really hope you like Thai food :-)
I am so proud if people love Thai food because I am from Thailand and I am always happy to share all friends about my country :-)
Thank you @penticton and have a great day :-)

T.J.

funny that you would mention chinese food, because that's basically what you ate

a lot of thai food served isn't native to thailand, but more of "a thai take" on a dish that's originally chinese (or laotian, or malaysian)

i don't think tapioca is chinese (or thai for that matter) but the rest of what you got was pretty much straight from china

i wouldn't let it bother you though, the menu you get may not be PURE thai but if it suits your tastebuds, go for it!

That's really interesting. Funny how we believe in whatever is presented to us in the restaurants as authentic cuisine. Dubai has so many different restaurants but if you're not an expert it's hard to distinguish between authentic and blends of different cuisines.

Undoubtedly the Thai food is very rich very good pictures @penticton

looks so tasty, hava a good day :)

You can see those candies very well, it's a little difficult to eat with the sticks, the same thing happens to me, nice pictures

woow you its dubai! you also eat sweet tako ! enjoy life and have great fun!

That looks so delicious, I really like the colors of the food really that very good photo

yummyyyyy,i want to eat this,Speechless,Photography of different styles,Very nice! I love the step by step pictures.Thank you for sharing, so beautiful many of them

I appreciate your support and am grateful to be here on Steemit.
I welcome any feedback you have to offer as well as an upvote!

waw you are really great, can make that delicious food se, it must be a very enjoyable day, success always my friend

I must try this food :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63878.47
ETH 2625.83
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.79