ROADSIDE PRODUCE SHOPPING - TEXAS EDITION

in #food7 years ago

Whether it is growing your own or shopping at a local farmer’s market, it is nice to have alternative options for picking up some produce.


Down in South Texas, the entrepreneurial spirit is alive and well. Along the roadsides and at many intersections, you can purchase all kinds of delicious goods. From elotes and aguas frescas to pineapples and mangoes, shopping can be done quickly and easily. Even after the boom of fireworks sales is over, many roadside merchants are still hard at work.

As I was travelling, I noticed a produce stand set up on a corner. I pulled in and checked it out. The pineapples were warm and ripe, and you could smell them in the breeze. It was so delicious just to breathe. The man had some pretty competitive prices too.

Here is a run-down of what I purchased.


  • 2 Pineapples - $5 USD total

  • 2 Coconuts - $2 USD total

  • 3 Jimicas - $3 USD total

  • 1 Bag of Oranges - $5 USD total

  • 1 Case of Mangoes - $5 USD total


It was a pretty good purchase for $20 total. Of course some supermarkets and grocery stores can periodically beat those prices, but still. Also, just like it is at the grocery store, this produce was not grown by this man. He is an entrepreneur and is just trying to make some income by selling items for more than he purchased them for.

A few nice things about shopping this way include the following:


  • Open air

  • No advertising or other overhead costs are figured into the price

  • No need to unload the entire family out of the vehicle in order to shop

  • Supports people attempting to work for themselves

OTHER BENEFITS


Eating raw and whole foods is highly preferred over over-processed and packaged “food-stuffs” commonly available these days. Honestly, our food can either poison us or nourish us, and it is important for us all to make healthy choices for ourselves and our children.

Having fruit for an afternoon snack is a delicious way to get a boost of midday energy. We also like to teach our @little-peppers about where food comes from, and it is a much easier lesson to teach them where a fruit comes from than a lengthy list of unpronounceable chemicals on the ingredient list.

Shopping this way also has a certain nostalgic feeling about it. It reminds me of the farmer’s markets and farms where you can shop directly at. It is not often that I see anything like these roadside vendors in Arkansas or Wisconsin, so this has become a nice “Texas treat” for me. Do any of you have any roadside vendors like this in areas near you? If so, do you ever shop there?

As always, I'm @papa-pepper and here's the proof:


proof-of-roadside-produce



Until next time…

Don’t waste your time online, invest it with steemit.com


TO TRANSLATE POSTS VIA OPERATION TRANSLATION CLICK HERE

Sort:  

Hello @papa-pepper. I translated this post in Russian. Translation here: https://steemit.com/food/@igor-steem/pridorozhnaya-prodazha-fruktov-v-tekhasskom-stile . Thank you for support! In our country there are many such sellers. I'm surprised that there are such service in America. I also like this kind of roadside service. :-)

Cool, I'll check it out and upvote it!

@papa-pepper Thank you for support!

I'll take that case of mangoes anytime! I'll have mango milkshakes and sweet mango slices with rice all day if only my hyper-acidity prone stomach would let me.

Mango Milkshakes sound incredible!

Try it, sir. You'll flip with joy at the awesome goodness! Here's the basic recipe.

The quality looks amazing @papa-pepper! I love buying from street vendors too, we got some in Mauritius, though very little compared to before!
Buying with them is as you said help these 'nature passionate' to get a decent living! I urge everyone to help these people by buying there products!
I've never heard of Jimicas though, wondered how they taste and their texture!
Cheers
@progressivechef

Jicimas are great in salads or salsa or just about anything. You take the peel off with a peeler then cube it or cut it into strips. It has the texture of an apple but a very subtle flavor. It is only slightly sweet not as sweet as an apple. But it can add texture and crunch to any dish.

Oh thank you so much for this great description @doctorcrypto! Really appreciate it! It would be great if i could have it in hand and do a nice dish out of it!

Nice items you bought @papa-pepper. Very Healthy and fresh. You should have tried watermelon too.I love Pineapples. How you use them, I usually prefer Pineapples juice then raw Pineapples . Good shopping . 👌

We had a watermelon, but left it at the home of @xtrodinarypilot. I should have bought a new one!

When I see your post. I was reminded of the fruit market in my village. I really like.

Pease support me in steemit.
Upvote and follow me @tsteem

Thank you buddy!

I love that you are teaching your kids not to be scared of things outside of the store. I grew up stopping for produce in TX as a kid. I always tell folks if you see someone selling tamales or produce on the side of the road, pull over it is probably the best you will ever have.

No kidding! Though some have fears and phobias, I love food off "the street"... so much so that we often go to Mexico just for lunch!

I do! There's one just before you go down the ravine to our community. He sells fresh coconuts, jicamas, mangoes, dates, pineapples you name it! He'll even cut them up for you! Here in CA fruit is fairly inexpensive and at times this vendor is a little pricier but it's ok because I know he is there working hard from 6 in the morning till sunset rain or shine.

Very cool and glad to hear it!

I love seeing things like this , don't really get to in the city

Me too! I find such exchanges to be refreshing!

i think village in one African country. nice post.

Post you are very interesting nobody suspects you make a post about this this is very nice. I hope with this post you got what you want because congratulations i've seen the post sepeti you make, this is really amazing, hopefully can make a post Interesting again for the future

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 60950.37
ETH 3387.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49