You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Papa Pepper's HOT Pepper Challenge for Puerile People - The Ghost Pepper

in #food8 years ago

Nice one!
That was the NAGA JOLOKIA or "GHOST PEPPER"
The more roundish ones that are wrinkly with a little curved tip in the middle are actually the Carolina Reapers, which can actually be more than twice as hot as that one!
The GHOST used to be the hottest in the world though, so EXCELLENT JOB!

Sort:  

I thought the little ones were habaneros. We grow those here, so it didn't seem like it would be much of a challenge for me. They're super hot, but I was thinking much hotter.
There are some old families here who really know how to grow peppers. It's not just the kind, but the location, water, soil, compost, sun exposure, etc. Some of them know how to make them amazingly hot or wonderfully mild. I don't know what works, but they sure do.

Yeah, I like peppers grown in Texas and Mexico for that reason.
The climate does add to the pepper's flavor and heat.
Did you eat any of those reapers yet, then?

No, I guess it's the ghost that went into today's salsa. I'll post the recipe later.

Excellent choice, I love Ghost Peppers in Salsa, and I will even post my secret recipe eventually.

I always heard the hotter the weather, the hotter the pepper. Spritzing the leaves with a fine mist helps too. I grew some cayennes last year that were somewhere between the ghost/chocolates and the Reaper. Good organic soil helps too. I use Roots organic for all my container growing. Learned it from growing wee... umm medicine in Colorado 😉

Yeah, there are all sorts of growing tips one can learn.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 66976.31
ETH 3509.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.70