MY LOVE AFFAIR WITH CHILE RELLENOS - And What I Learned About Them Today

in #food7 years ago

Yes, @papa-pepper is a pepper lover, and it’s not just @mama-pepper and the @little-peppers that I love!


Ghosts, Carolina Reapers, Big Jims, Uba Tubas, Fatalis, Black Pearls, Medusas, Chile de Arbols, 7 Pot, Scotch Bonnets, Tepins, and a plethora of other peppers all have a special place in my life!

Poblanos are no different. Poblanos are that main pepper used in Chile Rellenos, and I love Chile Rellenos. Thankfully, I even had an opportunity to enjoy some yesterday. I was out celebrating a special day with @mama-pepper and we stopped in at one of our favorite local Mexican Restaurants.

Often, we will just get some fajitas for two, but @mama-pepper wanted to order solo, so that left me free to explore the menu. Since I don’t have an all-time favorite dish at this particular restaurant, I looked for something that would catch my eye, and my appetite. Soon, I had arrived at success, the Chile Rellenos.

Chile Rellenos are basically Poblano Peppers that are stuffed with a melted cheese or queso and battered in egg and covered in corn masa and fried, either in a pan or a deep fryer. A variety of cheese can be used, and the pepper type is sometimes even substituted. Most of the versions that I have encountered are just cheese-filled, but variations exist that use various meats as well.


Whatever the variations, I have enjoyed every Chile Relleno that I have encountered so far!

TIL

Today I even learned that they originated in the city of Puebla, which is actually same city that the Poblano pepper was named after! Hopefully, I’ll never stop eating or learning about peppers!

FULL STEEM AHEAD!!!


As always, I’m @papa-pepper and here’s the proof:


proof-of-chile-rellenos


FOLLOW


Awesome Handcrafted @papa-pepper logo kindly donated by @vlad - Thank you!!


OPERATION TRANSLATION logo provided by @oecp85.

(click link above for more info on Operation Translation)


The long-term purpose of this account is to help provide the necessary funds to live a self-sufficient lifestyle at home with my family.

Sort:  

Oh my god that looks so good! <3 Chile relleno! Really I love mexican/tex-mex in general! Its the area of cooking I work on the most for my self, despite living in massachusetts.

Tough guy!

Made them at home a week ago! My mom brings me green chili from New Mexico so I make them often!

Chile rellenos are my favorite! Delish!

Excellent to hear! Maybe we can enjoy some together some day!

Never tried them, I can imagine they are hot :)

they're actually pretty mild, although I have had the rare hatch chile that was pretty hot.

I have never dared try a hot one, lol I'm a wimp

NIce!! You know without the stems it would change the whole aesthetics/appeal of the photo.
Glad you left them on.

That's how they make them, and I love the look too!

I am going to see if our local Mexican restaurant carries this on the menu as it looks very inviting.

Papa recommends it!

upvote and resteem for chile rellenos. a personal favorite! :)

Thanks, I'm glad we agree!

This post has been ranked within the top 80 most undervalued posts in the second half of Jan 15. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $5.21 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Jan 15 - Part II. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

Living in the SW, we're in the heart of Mexican food. While the rest of the country enjoys their hams for Christmas, we have tamales, meat and green chile, fresh tortillas, pinto beans, etc. I only get rellenos when we go out though. I really like them too.

Suddenly, Papa is hungry again!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.33
TRX 0.11
JST 0.035
BTC 67020.94
ETH 3270.13
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.62