LONCHES - A SPECIAL MEAL FOR MAMA-PEPPER TO CELEBRATE OUR NEW BABY - Recipe Included

in #food7 years ago (edited)

This is one of the most interesting and delicious sandwiches that we know.


Since @mama-pepper was born down near the US/Mexico border, we still have a lot of family in that area. Often, we would drive from Wisconsin to south Texas every year to visit relatives. Since we were so close to the border, we would frequently go to Mexico, even if it was just for lunch.

One of our favorite foods to purchase from the street vendors was a little sandwich/taco combination known as "lonches." Since lonchar means "to have lunch" in Spanish, lonches automatically are predestined to make an excellent option for lunch. There has seriously been times when we have went to Mexico, just to get some lonches for lunch.

The ones that we make ourselves are never quite as good as the ones near the border, but we still try and we enjoy them anyway. Since @mama-pepper has recently been through so much with the delivery of our most recent child, I figured that helping out more with meals wasn't enough, so I went for the gold and made her lonches.

INGREDIENTS


Since we feed a small army of peppers every day and since these lonches are so tasty that we eat at least a few for each adult, I make a good sized batch. Here are the basics.

  • 12 Bolillos (this is the bread)

  • 4 Avocados

  • 1/4 Head of Cabbage

  • 1/2 Bunch of Cilantro

  • 1# of Ground Beef


Recipes and options vary, but this is basically how we like to make ours.

DIRECTIONS

Brown the Ground Beef in a skillet. While the Beef is browning, heat up some oil in another skillet and lightly fry the Bolillos.


While the Bolillos are frying and the Ground Beef is cooking, slice the Avocados, Cabbage, and Cilantro.


Two options exist for slicing the bread. Either you can just make a slice down the center of the roll to stuff the ingredients into or you can cut a wedge into the top of the Bolillo. This time I opted for the wedge.


Fill the Bolillos with the cooked Ground Beef.


Add some chopped Cilantro and Cabbage.


Top with Avocado slices.


If you have a favorite salsa, you can also add that to the top.


We like to use a nice Salsa Verde on ours.


As an added bonus...

Seven months back I finally released my secret GREEN GHOST SALSA Recipe on steemit. I had kept the recipe secret for years, but I figured it was time to share it with the world. Since many of you missed that, I'll link it here for you. It complements the lonches very nicely.

https://steemit.com/food/@papa-pepper/finally-papa-s-secret-recipe-green-ghost-salsa-released-for-the-first-time-ever-on-steemit

Since @mama-pepper had no idea what I was up to (sometimes she doesn't, lol) she was very pleasantly surprised when she found out what we were eating. Soon, I may have to take her back to Mexico so that we can get some "real one," but for now, this will hold us over.

Have any of you ever tried lonches before? If not, would you like to?


As always, I'm @papa-pepper and here's the proof:


proof-of-lonche



Until next time…

Don’t waste your time online, invest it with steemit.com


TO TRANSLATE POSTS VIA OPERATION TRANSLATION CLICK HERE

Sort:  

Lord knows, Papa just made me hungry
😔

Glad to hear it. Too bad you aren't closer, I'd make up another batch special, just for you!

Aw man, that woulda bin great

Only thing i can say: nomnomnomnom

Enjoy!

We did! We did!

They are! Thank you!

(On a side note, I paid out all the participants from the STEEM-Pocalypse game. Getting ready for Season 3!!!)

This recipy looks delicious.
I think you have explain it really well.

Good, I try to make it easy and step by step. with photos that are good enough you do not even need to read. Thank you!

You're welcome;)

Looks good. Thanks for the recipe I think I will give them a try soon.

Its 8:45 am on the west coast and now I'm hungry for lunch already. Daaaang, looks delishioso sir!
My personal fav mex is Alhambre: grilled steak, bacon, and chorizo sautéed with pineapple and peppers. Taco King in the sleepy little hamlet (pun intended) of San Luis Obispo Ca. makes the best I've found yet but I'll never stop looking! Tacos for life!
That's right Taco King, that's a shout out yo!

That sounds great! Big fan of chorizo... and PEPPPERS!

nice....rs and upvote for you

looks delicious.
upvoted followed resteemed

Very nice of you! Thanks.

Looks delicious and healthy.

I'll vouch for the deliciousness!

Yum! Sounds really good right about now. Thank you for the recipe and the lonches story.
I visit Mexico quite often and enter in the Baja State. The popular foods in this area of Mexico are fish tacos and bbq chicken.

Gotta love the Mexican food actually from Mexico!

I do love the real Mexican food. I have a couple of good friends with restaurants in Algodones, Baja, absolute killer cuisine. Looks you got a yummy handle on it right there in your own kitchen @papa-pepper :-)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65017.48
ETH 3454.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50