EGGciting News!

in #food8 years ago

I just wanted to share some quick news.

We got our first egg today!

Isn't it beautiful?

Here's a picture of our flock. We got 5 hens from some friends, and then picked up 6 free chickens from another source.

We've never raised chickens before as a family, so it has been a neat adventure.



For an interesting story about one of our roosters named "MONSTER TRUCK THE EAGLE", click here.


Here's another post I made about combining pest control with chicken training.


We plan on using the chickens as a way to get free eggs, meat, and more chickens, so we will keep you posted on how it goes! Here's a few more pictures of the flock.

As always, I'm @papa-pepper, and here's the proof:

proof-of-first-egg




Awesome Handcrafted @papa-pepper logo kindly donated by @vlad - Thank you!!

Sort:  

Wow!!! What an egg-sight-ing day!!!! I love the name of Monster Truck the Eagle!!!! My kid's first chickens had great names too: "Little Joe Fot" and "My Girl Lay an Egg". What a great adventure you are on--and with children!!!! Good move on activating a chicken reality. You are blessed!!!

Indeed, an eggcredible adventure!
Egg #3 today!!!!

Dude, i dig your post. Awesome hens. Thank you for all the cool information on your previous post.

Thanks man.
I appreciate the encouragement.

You need to frame it somehow, would love to have chickens but haven't got the room where I live

Perhaps quail?

They are smaller, and lay eggs a little bigger than jelly beans.

You can tell they have not been there very long, because there is lot of grass. Grass is the first to go, followed by every bug they can find. Then they will dig for the worms. :)

We plan on rotating them quite a bit, and changing the pen locations, then, eventually just free ranging them. I don't want exposed soil to be swept away by wind erosion.

Joel Salatin has an interesting method with a portable chicken coop. We don't have the space. We are just inside city limits, so we can't have a rooster either :( In addition to our thirteen laying hens, we also raise chickens for meat. Since there is only wooded area behind us, nobody knows, and it takes very little space to raise all the chickens we need for ourselves. We raise three batches of twenty five per year, and we will be starting another batch within the next couple weeks. Maybe I will do a post about it?

Do a post!
We use a smaller version of basically what Salatin does.
For both the chickens and rabbits.

Eggcellent! At first I thought you might be eggsagerating, but then I saw that your specimen really is eggsemplary. No wonder you're so eggstatic.
Cigars for everyone!!

Don't you want to know how eggs reproduce???

I'm still trying to figure out how Rock showed leg? Or was it legg?

Oh that reminds me...
I sent a package your way today...
No pressure.
You don't have to...

I just wanted to make sure that you had the opportunity...

If you wanted to.

lol, no pressure.

I'm askairt.

This looks like a fun endeavour, eggs are so versatile and can be used in so many different dinner dishes!

I just pickled some with peppers.

@papa-pepper pickled eggs with pickled peppers.


            ____
           /xxxx\
          |xxxxxx|
          |xxxxxx|      _
          \xxxxxx/     (~)
           \xxxx/
            \--/
             ||
             ||
             ||   ejm96
             ||
             ||
             []

What is that? A tennis racket?

Consider raising meat birds instead of waiting for your laying hens to mature out (for meat). Only 6 mos and you can harvest, which will give you at least 2 cycles ahead of when you'll be replacing your laying hens.

Great job!! Keep it up!

Yeah, good point.

We may be hatching out our own one day, and just cull the roosters.
There are definitely a lot of options in poultry!

That's so great, haha! Just read 3 of your chicken posts, I think the rooster name is perfect. When I was a little one my dad came home drunk with a fighting rooster and he was my pet for a few years. I named him "Dr. Pepper!" since that's what it sounded like when he crowed to me. And hey, I grew up with that as my fave soda too.
Oh well my luck must be bad about the alarm clock feature, never has a properly set time. They tend to just go off at 3 am and in the afternoons instead for some reason, at least its easy to get used to and auto tune out.

Three am is not fun...
Ours go off around 6am or slightly earlier.
We definitely like them, and thanks for reading!

If you keep getting animals, you're gonna have to change your name from papa-pepper to farmer-in-the-dell. Seriously though, congratulations on the egg! Sounds like you're gonna have to host breakfast for hungry Steemians soon!
I like mine scrambled. ;)

We could do that.
What time do you wake up?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 54147.93
ETH 2274.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.35