ARROZ CON POLLO - PAPA MEETS A NEW PEPPERsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #food7 years ago

I love encountering new peppers!


@papa-pepper has been a long time pepper grower and general "hot head." Long before steemit ever existed, I had even gone by the name @papa-pepper, I just lived offline so there was no "@" in front of my name and at the time I spelled it "POPPA-PEPPER." You can see the name on the front of my shirt in this video from years before steemit was ever created. Also, you can see that this song was recorded in my grow room at the time, which was full of peppers.

You may also notice that I am sporting a pre-runner to the classic "STEEM CHAIN" that I often wear. In case you are not familiar with the STEEM CHAIN, here is the one that I am talking about.

Recently, I met some great friends that we have a lot in common with. Our lifestyles, families, and goals are all pretty similar, so we hit it off well. When we were up at their house the other day, they even introduced me to a new pepper that I had never met before, the "arroz con pollo."

THE ARROZ CON POLLO VIDEO

A LITTLE MORE ABOUT THIS PEPPER

Even though I already have seeds for literally hundreds of varieties of peppers, it's always nice to meet another variety. This one happens to originally come from Cuba. The name is a little interesting, because "arroz con pollo" is a way to saw "chicken with rice" in Spanish.

When you cut one open that familiar habanero-type smell is there to greet you. While the scent and flavor is similar to habanero peppers, this pepper has no heat to it. It has the flavor without the burn!

I've met a few peppers like this before, including the "Trinidad Perfume" and some "Suave" peppers. I haven't grown any in a few years, but I really need to get back into it.

As always, when a food has the seeds inside of it, then you can potentially grow your own. I can't wait to get our house built and be able to invest more time into gardening, as I have a lot of peppers that I really want to get growing.

If you have never tried a pepper that smells and tastes like a hot pepper but has no heat, you really should. Interestingly enough, when I looked up "arroz con pollo pepper" online, some of the first results were being able to purchase seeds from Baker Creek Heirloom Seed Company, which I have mentioned quite a few times recently.

As always, I'm @papa-pepper and here's the proof:


proof-arroz-con-pollo



Until next time…

Don’t waste your time online, invest it with steemit.com


GIF provided by @malos10


TO TRANSLATE POSTS VIA OPERATION TRANSLATION CLICK HERE

Sort:  

How fun to find a new pepper. But I have to admit that my favorite part about this post is your old school music video! That was AMAZING!!!!

Habanero flavor without the habenero heat, interesting. I tried the TAMU jalapeno that is the same idea, wasn't that great to me, tasted like a bell pepper.
Oh well maybe it will be a hit.

AJ picked your post @papa-pepper for his #TOP5 FOOD POST. Visit AJ's FOOD ROUNDUP to view where your post is ranked.
badge.jpeg

oh thats great dude

Thank you for sharing with us your new discovery of arroz-con-pollo. It looks so cool :)

I also left this comment on YouTube, but when I saw this video go up, I was a bit confused since arroz con pollo is a popular dish at many Mexican restaurants in the US, haha, but I suppose the names of peppers don't always have to be rational. Might have to try these since I'm a fan of less heat. Thanks for the video!

As always, I'm @papa-pepper and here's the proof:

sir @papa-pepper, you are great and do everything with proof. you show a red hot fresh pepper looks so spicy, i also used green pepper daily in salad with lunch and dinner, thanks for sharing.

I'm going to check out "Baker Creek Heirloom Seed Company". Looks like a good resource for my business plan.
UPDATE
They most definitely have it going on.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63156.23
ETH 2560.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.83