AN UNEXPECTED ROI

in #food7 years ago

This was NOT what I was expecting.


A while ago, we helped an old neighbor with a job that he was doing. The "job" was harvesting a few of his meat goats. For me, it would be a chance to learn a new skill. For him, it would be an opportunity to get some help and speed up the process. If that were all that happened, it would have been time well spent.

HOWEVER...

The plan went well, and we took care of the animals together. I learned a lot on the first two, and he had me do the third one myself. Since he doesn't do anything with the hides, he also gave them to me so I could learn how to tan the hides, which was an added bonus. I thought that this was it. If it had been, it would have still been more than I had hoped for; not only did I get to learn, I also got some hides to tan.

Then, a few weeks later, we received a call. The man told me he needed me to pick up some of the goat meat. He claimed that he needed more freezer space. Now this was unexpected, and a blessing. I'm not one to turn down a giver, so I let the man bless us and came over to pick up the meat. Interestingly enough, we had never tried any goat meat before in our lives, so this would also be a new experience.

When I showed up, I was amazed. If I added all of the meat up, the man was basically giving us a full goat worth of meat. The is incredibly generous for sure. But, we already knew this man to be a generous one, as he had been the one who blessed us with our heifer, trading her to us for just three little piglets. That's the heifer in the photo above.

COOKING THE GOAT MEAT

Some of the goat meat was already ground, so @mama-pepper substituted it for ground beef in a delicious meal we enjoy with brussel sprouts and sweet potatoes. She is always looking up new recipes to try and this was one of the ones that we all had enjoyed.

While it is plenty tasty on its own, we mixed it up a bit by putting it in some corn tortillas and adding some salsa too! This makes one tasty taco for sure. This is one of the meals where you really need to make a lot of it in order to have leftovers! We cooked some more of the meat too, as featured in the cover photo, and that was delicious too.

It is interesting that with as popular as goat meat is around the world, we had never had any yet. It's not just because it is not on the fast food menu, but it is certainly not as popular some places in the USA. Obviously, to receive such tasty meat for free was a huge blessing, and we were very pleased to try out our first goat dinners.

As always, I'm @papa-pepper and here's the proof:


proof-of-meat

Until next time…

Don’t waste your time online, invest it with steemit.com


GIF provided by @orelmely


TO TRANSLATE POSTS VIA OPERATION TRANSLATION CLICK HERE

Sort:  

I see rice.
I see taco.
I see food.
Good stuff my man.
Keep on steemit.

Good stuff indeed! Thanks man!

Wow my dear wild man, I didnt know that you have exotic taste for great foods..so you are a yummy yummy guy??? wow!!! How I wish I can join you and enjoy this yummy...you are always doing great in any post segments ...keep up the good work and greetings to @papa-pepper clan.

I am currenty supporting a new minnow via my latest post yesterday in order to motivate her not to give up..feel free to check it out and send in your support ...wish you a blessed weekend.

So cool @papa-pepper!!!! What an awesome experience and that meal looks yummy!!!! I have never had goat before.

@papa-pepper It looks good enough to eat as I am chewing on my Enchiladas right now............

I'm down for enchiladas anytime!

I need a neighbor like him :)
nice post

I think that we all could use one! While you are waiting on getting one, maybe you should just concentrate on being one!

yeah you are right :)

Best advice i've heard in a long while!

We all need a neighbor like him :)

@papa-pepper OMG it looks soooooo delicious man!!!! Im too hungry now to see such mouth-watering mexican food! yummy!!!!!!

wow he has a good heart ,i wish God creates more 10000 people like him

I think that God is willing, it is just up to us, the people, to let Him!

seems yummy 😜😂

You're lucky @papa-pepper not all can have that kind of neighbor.

That's a blessing! I've only had goat at an Indian restaurant before, and would definitely jump at the chance again. The kids would too--they want to try other things, and just recently had venison, and really liked it. Older two way back when also have had elk, bear, and rabbit.

We just had some venison tonight when I was finishing cutting up a deer I shot.

We were recently given some venison from a family at church...was so good. No gaminess at all.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60147.92
ETH 2613.63
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55