A DELICIOUS DINNER FROM THE GARDEN & WOODS

in #food7 years ago

A meal can be simple, it can be delicious, or it can be the fruit of your labor… perhaps even all three.


The meal that I had last night was. I’ll include a recipe in case anyone wants to replicate it, and I’ll even ship steemians in the US some seeds for free, in case you want to grow your own Chinese Noodle Beans.

So, what was so special about the meal?

I made a simple stir-fry last night, but it is the ingredients and where they came from that made it special. The meat was Ground Venison, which came from the woods near where we live. The Garlic that I sautéed in the butter was foraged in the woods nearby last summer. The Chinese Noodle Beans were ones that we grew in our garden last year and froze to use in the winter months. I added a few extra ingredients too, but the bulk of it was hunted, foraged, and gardened by our friends and family right where we live.

THE APPRECIATION

You’ve probably often heard me speak about having a trustworthy food supply and about the joy of taking more of what you eat into your own control. I won’t go too far into the details here, but I will mention the blessing of putting effort into providing food for yourself and family.


The @little-peppers and myself walked around in the woods to harvest that garlic. We pulled them out of the earth, washed them, and braided them into long strands to store for the winter. Now, when we grab a few cloves to use in a meal, we have all those memories and gathering and preparing them.


In our area, a few deer were harvested last year too. I harvested three myself. The @little-peppers and @mama-pepper remember each time that I came home with a deer, and how I had to clean and butcher them. They were there helping as I cut the meat into different pieces for different meals. I remember Pinkie-Pepper writing things like “Roast,” “Stew Meat,” “Tenderloin” and other things on the bags before we filled them with meat and froze them. It was quite an experience for me, and my children got to share in it. When we cook some of that meat now, it’s not just a hunk of meat. We remember the animal that it came from, and the process of preparing it to be used as food for our family.


The Chinese Noodle Beans have a inspired a similar appreciation in us. We planted the seeds. We watered the plants. We weeded around them. We harvested the ripe beans. Now, we have all those memories each time we enjoy some at a meal.

THE RECIPE


INGREDIENTS

  • 2# Ground Venison
  • 1 Quart Chinese Noodle Beans
  • 10 Cloves of Garlic
  • 1/4 Stick of Butter
  • 2 Tablespoons Bragg’s Liquid Aminos
  • 5 Medium Portabella Mushrooms

DIRECTIONS

  • Brown Ground Venison in a skillet. Season if desired.
  • In another skillet, melt Butter.
  • Thinly slice the Garlic and sauté in Butter.
  • Once Garlic has sautéed, add Chinese Noodle Beans and cover.
  • Slice Portabella Mushrooms and add to the second skillet.
  • Once the Beans and Mushrooms have cooked, add in Ground Venison and Bragg’s Liquid Aminos.
  • Allow Liquid Aminos to thoroughly permeate the dish and serve.

THE CLOSING THOUGHTS

This is one that the @little-peppers enjoyed as much as we did! Soon, dishes were empty and bellies were filled. One of the biggest blessings of providing more of our own food is to see how the children react to the meals, now that they have a real connection to what they are consuming. Often, there is far less complaining, and far less left-overs now that they understand more of the process and actually played a role in providing it too!

Again, if you would like to try growing some of your own Chinese Noodle Beans, just let Papa know. I’ll ship them for free to anywhere in the United States.

RELATED POSTS

I have previously posted about each of the main ingredients that I used in this dish. Here is a great post about the Garlic, the Chinese Noodle Beans, and the Deer.


FORAGING FOR WILD GARLIC


GROWING CHINESE NOODLE BEANS IN THE GARDEN


PAPA’S FIRST TIME HUNTING DEER

As always, I'm @papa-pepper and here's the proof:


proof-of-dinner


FULL STEEM AHEAD


FOLLOW


Awesome Handcrafted @papa-pepper logo kindly donated by @vlad - Thank you!!


OPERATION TRANSLATION logo provided by @oecp85.

(click link above for more info on Operation Translation)


The long-term purpose of this account is to help provide the necessary funds to live a self-sufficient lifestyle at home with my family.

Sort:  

Hello @papa-pepper,

Congratulations! Your post has been chosen by the communities of SteemTrail as one of our top picks today.

Also, as a selection for being a top pick today, you have been awarded a TRAIL token for your participation on our innovative platform...STEEM.
Please visit SteemTrail to get instructions on how to claim your TRAIL token today.

If you wish to not receive comments from SteemTrail, please reply with "Stop" to opt out.

Happy TRAIL!

We moved countries a few months back and live in an apartment now. All those years with a yard and we never grew anything!

When our lease is up we will be looking for a place with some ground so that we can do the same, on a smaller scale, will still have to buy meat though!

Thanks for sharing

That is very encouraging to hear you say. Too often I never took advantage of opportunities in the past either.

Depending on what you like to eat for meat, or what you are willing to try, rabbits may be a good meat animal to consider. 1 buck and 2 does can give you the same amount of meat in a year as a whole cow would provide, and they come in more reasonable portions. Plus, the manure is great for the garden, and "garden ready", no need to compost it first.

Well, we moved to Portugal, and round here the houses generally have very small stands. 5-600m^2 even smaller. So at most we could have rabbits/maybe chickens, but we will see.

I looked into aquaponics, thing is I don't like fish all that much, but then it is healthier...

It's good that you appreciate the freedom you have :)

I sure do appreciate the opportunities that I have,and am trying to take full advantage of them. I too want to get into aquaponics, so that's cool!

Thanks for the conversation.

Chinese noodle beans... interesting. Never came across these funny looking beans!

They are sooooo good, and great in stir-fries!

Great foraging -- it sure pays off, doesn't it! That dinner looks great and I bet it tastes even better! It's amazing how abundant food can be.

So much gardening advice tells new gardeners to grow what you like to eat. But I say learn to like what grows easily and productively in your area. Your Chinese noodle beans are a good example of that. With the first approach, you wouldn't have tried them at all. But with the second perspective, you have lots and lots of great eating. Those beans are so impressive -- they must really take to your soil and climate!

I guess that's where we will win. I like to experiment and try new things, and I heard that the Chinese Noodle Beans did well in a climate like mine.

Now I know that's true, and I have a great new favorite garden plant!

You are going to win, no doubt about it! I'm curious how they will do in my area, here in Oregon's Willamette Valley in the Pacific Northwest. Should I PM you in chat about getting seeds? Thanks.

Well done @papa-pepper, I'm sure that you are very much appreciated by your family!

@kus-knee (The Old Dog)

Thanks Old Dog!

Delicious! I am interested in some noodle beans. I can get you my address on private message when I get a moment.

Unless you moved, I still got your address.

I'll put something together. What did I send you before? Milkweed?

You sent me asparagus before. Our address is the same. Thank you!

Excellent! I've got to get some out to another user soon too, so I'll add you to the list!

I appreciate it.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 64063.06
ETH 3144.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55