RW Garcia Kale Crackers vs PaleoTwist Kale Crackers

in #food5 years ago

Kale Crackers 7-2.jpg

My husband discovered RW Garcia Kale Crackers on sale at Krogers for $4.39, regular price was $4.99. He fell in love with these crackers and started buying them 3 boxes at a time. I must admit that the crackers are pretty good, but I can't see paying $4.39 on sale, for a 6.5 oz. box.
CrackersHR (2).jpg
http://rwgarcia.com/products/artisan-crackers/

I set out to find the crackers for a cheaper price, but found them for a much higher price. Amazon carries them for $16.14 for 2 boxes or $8.07 per box. I searched Thrive Market, Sprouts, Wal-Mart, and RW Garcia website and still could not find them except at Krogers and Amazon.

The next step was to try and make these crackers myself, put my PaleoTwist on them. I had to figure out the base and the ingredients for the crackers. The ingredients on the box were; Stone ground white cornmeal, Black Sesame Seeds, Chia Seeds, Flax Seeds, vegetable oil, Kale Flakes, Kale, and sea salt. After weeks of testing and several bad batches, I came up with a good recipe.

PaleoTwist Kale Crackers

Ingredients:
1-1/2 cup white cornmeal
1/4 cup kale flakes
1/4 cup olive oil
2 tbsp. flax seed
2 tbsp. sunflower seeds, slightly ground
2 tbsp. Pumpkin seeds, slightly ground, optional
1 tbsp. chia seeds
1 tsp. pink Himalayan salt
1 cup boiling water

Instructions:

Pick the stems off the kale, place the kale on a foil lined pan.
Kale Crackers.jpg

Bake the kale in a 325 degree oven for 12 minutes or so, until kale is crispy. The kale will shrink up as the water is drawn out of it.
Kale Crackers-2.jpg

Crush the kale by hand or use a grinder to grind kale into flakes. Boil some water in a small pot. Put all the ingredients , except the oil, into bowl.
Kale Crackers-3.jpg

Pour about 1 cup of boiling water into dry mixture and stir to combine everything. Then add the olive oil. Form into two balls.
Kale Crackers 8.jpg

Roll each ball out between two sheets of parchment paper. Roll out to about 1/4 in thickness, use a pizza cutter to score the dough into the size crackers you want. The dough is fragile, handle with care.
Kale Crackers 8-2.jpg

Bake in a 325 degree oven until crackers are slightly hard, about 10 minutes. Turn crackers over and bake for another 5 to 6 minutes until the crackers reach your desired crispness.

Kale Crackers 9.jpg

Let the crackers cool before you try to eat one, they will burn your mouth, believe me, I know. You should have at least 7 to 8 oz. of crackers from the two pans.

The cost of my PaleoTwist Kale Crackers are $1.80 per batch. A savings of $2.59 over crackers from Kroger and $6.07 over the Amazon price. All it takes is a little time and effort to make these tasty crackers. My daughter couldn't stop eating them, there're that good. My husband loves them too, every time he passes by the container, he stops to grab a few.

Loving my new snack.

Kale Crackers 7.jpg

Paleotwist Logo.jfif![

Sort:  

Congratulations @paleotwist! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 900 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 1000 upvotes.
You got more than 100 replies. Your next target is to reach 200 replies.

Click here to view your Board
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Wow! I am going to definitely try out this recipe. I have made Kale chips before but it was a lot of effort for a small amount of chips. I like this recipe because I can almost see it coming together. It reminds me of hot water cornbread on steroids. Thanks for sharing! I'm resteeming this post.

@jluvs2fly, that is exactly how I conceived the idea, hot water cornbread. The boiling hot water cooks the cornmeal so the baking time for the cracker is brief. When you start eating them it is hard to stop.

I would totally try to eat them when they were too hot too. I dont know why but I pretty much burn my mouth on everything. You’d think I’d learn by now 🤷🏼‍♀️ These look fantastic. Crackers are so easy to make and if they turn out right they are so good. Great job Chef!

Thank you puravidaville. Every time I cook, I burn something, my arm, finger, or mouth. I guess I am so anxious to see how it turns out. I must slow down and be more careful.

Haha… it sounds like you’re doing great. Sometimes I check out peoples posts and wonder how long they’ve been cooking because everything looks so perfect. I can’t imagine them making the flops in the kitchen that I do. A little burnt mouth usually just indicates that we were too hungry to wait. Haha. Cooking works up your appetite.

You put so much love and care into your cooking. They look great.

Thank you @pyemoney. I do love cooking and creating good food, it is my passion.

@paleotwist, I might have my wife make these for me. They really look good.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64614.75
ETH 3444.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55