Only 1 Ingredient Is Not Locally Produced Can You Find It?

in #food7 years ago

Do you wish you could source, purchase, prepare and eat a one hundred percent Local Food meal all on the same day?

Well it is Number One on my Food Goals list. Today I've managed to get very very close. In fact just One thing on this plate is not locally produced can you find which it is?

On this plate is the following : Rump Steak, onion, garlic, avocado, cos and curly lettuce, bock choy, shallots, celery, cucumber, cherry tomato, cheese, oregano, coriander, white and gold sweet potato, chilli, ginger and macadamia oil.


local food 1.jpg
Rump Steak topped with Avocado, fresh Cos Salad and Spicy White and Gold Sweet Potato Chips
local food 2.jpg

I am very happy with flavours and tenderness and it was so much better than my shoddy photographs depict.
I challenge you to try make a all local food meal even just once, it is both harder than it seems and fully worth the effort... Trust me, I'm an Aussie!


Fresh Food.jpg
Each thing you eat has a story, do you know that story?


So did you guess the odd one out? I'd put it in the meal without even thinking about it until it was eaten and I was writing this very post!
It Was The Cheese!
Sadly there are no local cheese makers anywhere that I can find.

Thank You For Taking The Time To Enjoy My Post


bar.jpg
Join The Steemit Homsteaders Slack Channel For Free, Just Click The Image And Say Hi!


Take a look at Yesterday's Awesome Trip Down Memory Lane 🙆

Or Follow me to get all my content right on your feed!👌

And Remember To

“UpVote It Like You Mean It!!!”

~Bryan
@overthewait
What are you waiting for?

Sort:  

Yes totally go for this. Eating local produce is all important.

Luckily I live in a cheese making area. There are half dozen great cheesemakers within 30 miles of where I live.

Today I'm eating a very tasty mature cheddar from just a spit over the valley.

Maybe one day I'll make my own - but then I'd need a cow... (not so keen on goats cheese 😜)

haha good for you! I don't mind a good goat feta with my salad or spinach. I've made some Camembert and cheddar in the past, the climate here is a challenge to storing and ageing cheeses without significant outlay. Enjoy your local cheese my friend :-)

I was going to say avocado... My goats spoil me with sweet, creamy milk , that tastes nothing like a goat, to make fresh cheese almost daily! Meat is hard for us to put on our plate from a local source as it is very expensive. Our roosters need to go, so soon...

Fresh chicken bits for you :-) we had an avocado tree here but the last cyclone knocked it flat...

What the distance for it to be counted as local? At the moment I've all on just trying to get SA produced.

I guess it's subjective given the vast distances between towns especially in rural areas. For me local produce is what's at the farmers market in my town, or food that still has its story, like Bob picked it on Thursday and Fred brought it up to sell at my town on Saturday. Certainly not any supermarket stuff anyway.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by Dingo from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, and someguy123. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you like what we're doing please upvote this comment so we can continue to build the community account that's supporting all members.

This post has received a 1.04 % upvote from @drotto thanks to: @banjo.

This post received a 5% vote by @nettybot courtesy of @sammosk from the Minnow Support Project ( @minnowsupport ). Join us in Discord.

Upvoting this comment will help support @minnowsupport.

This post received a 5% vote by @minnowsupport courtesy of @sammosk from the Minnow Support Project ( @minnowsupport ). Join us in Discord.

Upvoting this comment will help support @minnowsupport.

This post received a 5% vote by @msp-shanehug courtesy of @sammosk from the Minnow Support Project ( @minnowsupport ). Join us in Discord.

Upvoting this comment will help support @minnowsupport.

Oooohhh, what an exciting contest this could have been. In fact, I was almost treating it as such, trying to research your area (which I'm not even sure about... somewhere in Queensland, right?) and then comes the answer. Honestly, the cheese was the last thing I would have guessed. No cheese makers in your area? That is saaad. (Or is it a perfect niche for someone?)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 58679.35
ETH 3155.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44