Mini Steamed Pork Buns

in #food5 years ago

Mini Steamed Pork Buns

Pork Buns-12.jpg

I love steamed pork buns (also known as bao). The filling is flavorful and the bun is soft and fluffy.

I had a potluck to attend so I thought it would be a great idea to make some. Since they were going to be served as appetizers, I made mini ones.

The steamed buns were served with individually-portioned soy-based sauce and plated on shiso leaves.

Pork Buns-13.jpg

Here's a pork-filled mini bun prior to steaming. Notice the flour on the exterior.

Pork Buns-3.jpg

More formed buns

Pork Buns-4.jpg

After steaming, the surface looks shiny.

Pork Buns-6.jpg

I made some with holes (back tray) and some without the holes (front tray).

Pork Buns-7.jpg

A closer look at the mini buns without a hole ...

Pork Buns-8.jpg

... and with a hole on top

Pork Buns-9.jpg

Since I was in charge of the appetizers, I thought I'd also make some lumpia. Will post on this next time.

Pork Buns-14.jpg

I would love to hear from you, so please drop me a line below. That's all for now.

Bon appetit!

Sort:  

I love steam buns, looking forward to the lumpia

Haha! Yes, the lumpia will follow. I've been attempting to post on it but haven't been able to just yet. Hopefully soon though.

I wish I were at the potluck. Those buns look so pillowy soft and I really like the idea of the individual soy based sauce. YUMMY!

Thanks so much @loveself! Well, come on over and we can make them and eat them too! =D

Mmmmmm mmmmmm mmmmmmm! That siopao and lumpia combo looks muy delicioso, tita! Nice touch on the delivery system for the sauce. People could already get a taste of it even before their first bite.

Congratulations @offoodandart! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments received

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemitBoard Ranking update - Steem Power, Followers and Following added

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64158.52
ETH 3293.13
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.46