Craft Beers from New Zealand - SOUTHERN ALPSsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #food7 years ago (edited)

This weekend I had the joy to share a beer (or two) with a fellow Steemian and friend @gerben

Some beer, good friends and inspiring conversation = a good mix! 

To quench our thirsts after walking all the way up the top of Mount Manganui (see our wonderful walk here), we pulled a chilled Southern Alps beer out of the fridge.

To tell you the truth, after walking all that way up the Mount, and depleting so many calories it was good to top up on some more ;)

Before even tasting one drop I could smell the 'Fresh Hoppy' aroma coming from the just opened bottle. I knew this was going to be a 'keeper'.

The Southern Alps beer is on my To-Drink-List!


The makers of this fine New Zealand beer, MOA Beer (http://www.moabeer.com/moa-reserve-range) describe it like this: 

"Brewed with Vienna and Pale Wheat malts, dry hopped with a blend of Nelson Sauvin and Citra hops, giving a strong citrus and lemongrass aroma. The use of our Belgian ale yeast and coriander for spicing, gives the beer complexity and depth of flavour. The perfect marriage between a Belgian Wit and an I.P.A."


... I think its the 'Citra hops' that give it that fresh whack of aroma you first get. I would compare it to the Wiekse Witte (that I drunk a lot in Holland).

The Southern Alps beer is more of a summer beer I would say. So, its not the 'right beer' to be drinking here in New Zealand in the winter - but who cares, right. With beer there is no right or wrong, only the taste!

After a thorough taste test I would say that the first one is great, but the ones you have after taste even better ;)

I would describe the taste of this fine craft beer as:

"It pours golden with a white head. It has plenty of citrus flavor, grainy sweetness and an herbal quality to it with lemon."

... or even like ... 

"Light golden slightly Murky. Bold nose from the sauvin. Good body, strong citrus mouthful with moderate lemongrass lingering finish"

I'm not a beer connoisseur by any means, but that came out pretty professional... 

Next time I'll update you guys with another great (or not so great) New Zealand craft beer. And, no Im not a alchaolic in oprogress ;) .. hick, hick

Stay tuned! 

I would like some feedback on this post from you Beerterians:

  • Have you tried this beer? - what is your opinion
  • What's your favorite beer - don't be shy share it in the comments!
  • You are anti beer? - share that too ... 
  • Where do you come from and what is the greatest beer there?
  • You prefer a 0% beer - don't comment ;-) 
  • What is your favorite New Zealand craft beer?
  • You prefer a tea? Try beer

Ok, so commenting takes some effort, I know. So to make it worth your while: 

I will be giving away a free beer* to whoever posts the most creative, original, descriptive comment below!

* no matter where you live - I will send it to you. #freeBeer

Keywords: beer, new zealand beer, craft beer, beer review, southern alps beer, nz beer

Sort:  

Hi there. I'm from Australia and I love my beer. I haven't tried this one but I have had a few from Monteith's which have all been great. I would honestly struggle to choose a favourite.

..hey mate, the Kiwi's make a great brew aye! Thanks for your comment

You are in the draw

Panhead are pretty good too

Sounds like you had a blast! There is nothing like rewarding yourself with a refreshing brew after burning some calories!

As you know, I recently enjoyed sampling some fine creations at Creek Bottom Brewery in North Carolina. I was fortunate enough to experience Hellgrammite Brown Ale. I prefer a lighter Ale but this was a nicely blended brown Ale with a kick, weighing in at 7% ABV.

The color was pleasing as it was inbetween a light and a dark, a little darker than a caramel color, cloudy but also inviting!

As I anxiously lifted the glass up, looking forward to which notes was awaiting for me, I experienced the pleasant aromatics of chocolate and molasses. I knew this was going to be a treat!

Whenever I try a new beer, I always take a small sip first. That way, I can experience everything the craft has to offer without being overpowered.

My first taste wasn't dissapointing at all! I immediately experienced a hoppy taste with nutty and coffee undertones. The finish was definitely bitter but not in a bad way or overpowering.

I definitely enjoyed this craft many times before leaving for the evening. My wife was responsible for driving us home so she was limited with having only one drink of her choice with her meal. She had some type of apple cider but I can't remember the name of it. I took a small sip of it and quickly decided that it wasn't for me (too sweet). She enjoyed it, so thats all that mattered:)
Cheers!

You are in the draw

Looking very yummy indeed! Nice recipe dear!

Thanks @nzfxtrader

Im fond of this great New Zealand craft beer and would like to 'plug' the brilliant makers:

Check out there website: http://www.moabeer.com/moa-reserve-range

I'll stick with Steinlager.

Steinlager is another great New Zealand beer! Cheers to that

I've tried a number of Moa beers, but not that one- they are generally pretty good without being too challenging. I live across the ditch in Australia - What is our best craft? An interesting question and probably worth a full post one day but I'll say Praline by La Sirene (a sweet praline flavoured stout). As for a favourite NZ brewery- another good question. The big five for me would have to be 8 wired, Epic, Panhead, Garage Project, Funk Estate and Yeastie Boys (I know that's 6 but whatever) and the winner would be...Epic, for being consistently brilliant and in the first wave of Kiwi beer's available in Australia.

"sweet praline flavoured stout" <-- good winter beer?

Thanks for your reply, ill have to check some of those beers out. At this rate I will be joining AA soon ;)

You are in the draw

Nice post! I get thirsty again!

... first do the exercise then a beer as reward. You are in the draw also ;)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58004.44
ETH 2579.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.40