SIMPLE BERRY COMPOTE 🍒🍓 / 2-ingredients

in #food6 years ago

Okay, so I have very mixed feelings when it comes to compote. While I’ve been looking through random pictures of it I found on google, I realized most people have it somehow mashed? I don’t know, I’ve never had it this way neither have seen it. But the one I have seen and eaten several times before is the one you see in the pictures.

It’s made of berries, in my case cherries which are whole and not mashed. I don’t know if not mashed compote is just European thing or something but the way we have it here is whole fruits/chopped and not mashed.

fullsizeoutput_157e.jpeg

According to what Wikipedia says, compote is a dessert originating from medieval Europe, made of whole or pieces of fruit in sugar syrup. This description describes my compote pretty well I think. I also just realized how long compote has been around for and I’m shocked about that. I mean middle ages are pretty far back.

fullsizeoutput_1579.jpeg

I’ve also seen many people putting compote on top of pancakes or waffles which is a new thing for me as well. The main way it’s eaten here is on its own as a dessert. Another thing I’ve noticed while scrolling through compotes is that people around the world like to enjoy it warm and here it’s always served chilled or preferably even from refrigerator. Looks like there’s a lot I didn’t know about compote.

fullsizeoutput_1574.jpeg

Back to the compote I’m here with today. The fruit I used are cherries but feel free to use any other berries or fruit of choice. Instead of sugar syrup which is usually filled with loads of refined sugars we are using a combination of water and coconut sugar. You could also use fruit juice instead of water for richer flavour but I find water works just fine since we are using coconut sugar as well and the fruit releases a lot of flavour.

fullsizeoutput_157d.jpeg

This post is also my contribution to #fruitsandveggiesmonday hosted by our lovely @lenasveganliving. If you haven’t joined the contest yet (which you totally should because it’s a lot of fun every single time), you can find more info about it here.

fullsizeoutput_157f.jpeg


SIMPLE BERRY COMPOTE 🍒🍓


| INGREDIENTS

  • 3 cups berries of choice (or any other fruit)
  • 4 tbsp coconut sugar (use more or less depending in how sweet you want it to be)
  • 2 cups water* (enough to cover the fruit)

| METHOD

1/ Chop the fruit into smaller pieces.

2/ Add the berries to a medium pot along with water and coconut sugar. Bring to boil and cook for around 10 minutes.

3/ Once cooked take from the stove and let it cool down if you want to enjoy it cold or eat right away if you desire to have it warm. Store in fridge for up to 3 days.


| NOTES


*Use fruit juice for richer flavour


fullsizeoutput_1573.jpeg

Thanks for reading, I hope you enjoyed today's recipe! Have a wonderful day!

Nina

Sort:  

I gave you a positive vote in your publication! Please, give me a next vote! "Your publication has a lot of value, I'm also creating quality content, if you like you can visit me"

World of Photography
>Visit the website<

You have earned 6.50 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.30
Block time: 2018-07-09T13:18:45
Account Level: 1
Total XP: 528.45/200.00
Total Photos: 87
Total comments: 7
Total contest wins: 0
And have also received a 0.84 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Very tasty fruit..I like it your post

It is, thank you!

Nice read. I leave an upvote for this article thumbsup

This is very interesting and from my personal experience I know compote can be whole or sliced fruit that is preserved in a jar. My grandmother used to make it every season. My favorite was always apricot, but cherry looks and sound delicious too 🍒 🍌🍑🌿🍍🍓🍇
1 Collage.jpg

Thanks for sharing your knowledge! That's what I thought it is before the internet messed my mind haha ;) My mom makes it every season as well. Mmm apricot sounds so delicious!

My pleasure Sweetie...........internet is an incredible tool, however, sometimes we have to trust our own knowledge passed to us by our family 🍒🌸🍒

Your pictures are so vibrant and warm! I would love to taste it. And bravo on using a much healthier sugar option. When you have access to such beautiful fresh fruit it hardly needs any extra sweetener. Very interesting about the history of compote, too. I think many cultures have very similar dishes, just with a few twists depending on where you are located. I think I would happily eat it either way, though I do like it warm on a stack of yummy vegan pancakes! :)

Thank you so much! I try to avoid highly processed sugars as much as possible. I found that very interesting as well and definitely agree with you about the cultures. Oh so you have compote on top of pancakes? I had no idea this is a thing before I did my research, I imagine it being really yummy ;) Maybe I should give it a try..

Yum! This looks so simple and so good. I reckon it would be amazing on coconut ice-cream.

Thank you! Compote and ice cream.. Interesting combination, I'm sure it'd be amazing ;)

Coconut sugar is such a nice choice compared to the compote filled with the refined stuff - looks super delicious!

Definitely agree with you on this one. Thank you!!

mmmm cherries! This is such a great thing to have around to add to breakfast or smoothies deserts or on it's own. Love the coconut sugar idea.

It really is! I'm glad you liked it!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 66703.61
ETH 3518.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.68