LEMON CHEESECAKE 🍋🍰 | raw vegan | step-by-step recipe

in #food6 years ago

This cheesecake is raw vegan, refined-sugar free and super rich in flavour. It has a chewy walnut crust and a smooth and creamy cheesecake layer. You only need a few simple ingredients and 15 minutes to make.

You might remember the blueberry lemon overnight oats I posted the other day and since then I can’t stop thinking about lemon flavoured things. To satisfy my cravings I decided to make a lemon walnut cheesecake.

It’s been a while, I would say almost a year, since I made a cheesecake. Now, to be honest I’ve never in my whole life had real cheesecake before so I don’t exactly know how similar to the real thing these raw cashew cakes are but I love the taste of them so I would say they are pretty dang good.

Everyone will love this cheesecake whether they are vegan or not. My non-vegan family tried it and they loved it so I’m sure you will too.

This cheesecake is kept in the fridge. I find that if you store it in freezer, the cheesecake layer gets an icy feel to it and the crust is not as dense. However, I can guarantee it won’t be necessary to put it in freezer because it will be gone in no time.

Before I tried making raw desserts I never thought healthy food can taste this good! And so sweet on top of that! I love using dates as a natural sweetener, they are my favourite. For this cheesecake, I used dates for the crust layer and a liquid sweetener, which I don’t use that often, in cheesecake layer.


I am really hyped for this recipe and I hope you are too so let’s just start making, shall we!


RECIPE | LEMON CHEESECAKE 🍋🍰


  • Prep time: 15 min
  • Total time: 3h 15 min

INGREDIENTS:

CRUST:

  • ¾ cup pitted dates
  • 1 cup walnuts

CHEESECAKE LAYER

  • 1 cup cashews (soaked overnight, then drained and rinsed)
  • ¼ cup maple syrup
  • juice of 1 lemon
  • ½ tsp turmeric
  • 1/3 cup coconut oil

DECORATION:

  • lemon zest
  • chocolate sprinkles
  • fresh lemon
  • chocolate pb balls


METHOD | CRUST


1/ In a food processor or high-speed blender add dates and walnuts. Blend until sticky and crumbly.



2/ Transfer the crust to a 6-inch springform pan. Press down so it evenly covers the bottom of a pan.



METHOD | CHEESECAKE LAYER

1/ In a food processor or high-speed blender add cashews, maple syrup, lemon, turmeric and coconut oil. Blend until smooth and creamy.



2/ Transfer on top of the crust. Even out with a spatula. You can also crave a design on top if you feel like it.


3/ Place in a freezer for 3 hours to chill. After that time is over take out of the freezer, decorate and serve. Store in fridge (not freezer) for up to a week.




I hope you enjoyed today's recipe! Have a wonderful day!

Nina ✨

Sort:  

World of Photography
>Visit the website<

You have earned 6.50 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.30
Block time: 2018-06-21T14:01:33
Account Level: 1
Total XP: 437.45/200.00
Total Photos: 73
Total comments: 7
Total contest wins: 0
And have also received a 0.40 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

I bet this tastes so bright and delicious! So simple to make, as well. I just need a springform pan and I'll be good to give it a try! :)

Thank you!! It tastes amazing!! Oh you don't even need a springform pan, you can make it in any pan you have or even make mini cheesecakes ;)

Good thinking! ;)

Hi, we have voted on your post because you have posted your article to either food, recipe, recipes, cooking or steemkitchen #tag. Steemkitchen is a brand new initiative where we want to build a community/guild focused purely on the foodie followers and lovers of the steem blockchain. Steemkitchen is out of the conceptual phase and growing each day. We would love to hear your thoughts and ideas.

We are almost ready to Launch the first Decentralized Recipe and Food Blog Website that will utilize the Steem BlockChain and its community to reward contributions by its members.

Please consider joining us at our new discord server https://discord.gg/XE5fYnk

Also please consider joining our curation trail on https://steemauto.com/ to help support each other in this community of food and recipe lovers.

Kind Regards

@steemkitchen

Ps. Please reply “No Vote” if you prefer not to receive this vote and comment in the future.

This looks magical, Nina - I especially admire your beautiful decoration and your easy to follow step-by-step pictures 🤗

Oh thank you so so much, I really appreciate it!!

It looks deliciously. I will try to do it. Thank you a lot!

Thank you! Let me know how you like it if you decide to do so!

Omg YUMMM!! This lemon cheesecake looks and sounds like HEAVEN Nina!! I such a big fan of easy and simple recipes like this one!! I feel I need a piece right now as well!!!

Thank you so much Niina! Oh me too, they are the best!! Wish I could share a piece with you ;)

Oh yes, me too!

Your Recipe has been featured in the Steemkitchen Picks Of the week Article. Thank you for your continued Support. May the Hunger Stay with You.

Thank you!!

This looks absolutely gorgeous, I can't believe you only need 15 minutes to make this ♥ I included your yummy recipe in my "best 5 of the week" here: https://steemit.com/food/@isshappy/iss-happy-s-5-favorite-vegan-steemit-recipes-of-the-week-13 Thanks so much for sharing!

Thank you so much!

Had to bookmark this! I've been searching for a simple vegan cheecake recipe which doesn't take forever to prepare, and now I can say I've found it. Thanks for sharing the recipe! 😊

Aww I'm so happy to hear you are going to give it a try! It really is a simple recipe and takes minimum time to prepare! Make sure to let me know how it turned out ;)

I will! 😊

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 57690.80
ETH 2449.97
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.33