HEALTHY SNICKERS BARS (VEGAN + 6 INGREDIENTS!)🍫🥜|| IS IT LEGIT 🌚🦄🌈 || Recipe from Caitlin Shoemaker aka frommybowl

in #food6 years ago

Hi dear people! This morning I posted blog post where I explained a new series I'm starting on my blog (you can find that blog post here. The series is called IS IT LEGIT. The reason I named it this way is because I was tricked by other people’s recipes many times. Here I’ll be testing recipes and give you my 100% honest opinion on them. I’ll be testing random recipes I find on the web or recipes from people I’ve been following for a while now. If any of you guys want me to recreate/test your recipe, please leave a comment and I’d be blessed to do it.

••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••
*Disclaimer: This series is just for fun, I don’t wanna let anyone down. Please keep in mind that everyone likes different tastes as well. So if I don’t like something it doesn’t necessary mean it’s not good. You get what I mean?

••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••

••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••

To start this series out I decided to test a recipe from a person I’ve been following for a few years now and am a huge fan of – Caitlin Shoemaker. I’ve tried quite a few recipes from here before but never the one I’ll be trying today. I’ll be making HEALTHY SNICKERS BARS. Yes, you heard it right. What I love about her is how healthy her recipes are but they still taste amazing! You can find her blog here.

••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••

••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••

Lets start making!

Click for the original recipe

••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••

The first thing I loved was how simple the ingredients are. I sometimes find recipes and am like wow mate am I supposed to find a treasure first to get those ingredients so I can make it?! That didn’t happen this time so we are starting well.

••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••

••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••

I prepared all of the ingredients and put the dates in a microwave since we all know how impatient I am when it comes to soaking things. Putting them in a microwave actually worked really well and I’ll definitely use this a lot from now on.

Blending the caramel went pretty well and it tasted damn close to the real thing. The main flavour are obviously taking dates.

••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••

••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••

For the nougat layer I had a few problems. I was using a blender and not a food processor which was a mistake. If you make these definitely use food processor. I think I almost broke my blender so that wasn’t too great. Fingers crossed it still works. I also had hard time getting it together in a dough. It didn’t really want to stick together and it was falling apart. I think that’s because I didn’t use enough caramel so make sure to use enough of it or add some liquid.

••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••

••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••

As for putting it together, it was very simple but as it said, my nougat layer wasn’t really sticking together so it was kinda crumbly. Caramel spreaded really nicely tho.

Now I wouldn’t be me if I wouldn’t change something in every recipe. Instead of covering the bars in chocolate I added a layer of in on the top. I mean it still tastes the same, you get me? If you don’t know yet, I HATE covering things in chocolate because my whole kitchen gets very messy and I never know how much of it I have to melt and I then end up making way too much of it or not making enough of it. If you scroll through my blog you see everything that could be covered in chocolate has an extra layer of it on top.

••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••

••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••

For the most important part: the taste. It tastes VERY similar to the real one. The only difference I noticed is that it has a pretty strong date taste so if you don’t like them then it might not be ideal for you. I think that could be fixed with using less dates and more peanut butter. I really like the nougat layer, I think it tastes the same as the real thing. Overall I would give these thumbs up 👍. I think they are a great substitute for junk food and would definitely suggest you guys to try this recipe out.

••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••

••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••

Overall opinion👍
Taste7/10
Texture8/10
How similar it tastes to the real thing7/10
How easy it was to make⚫️⚫️⚫️⚫️⚪️
Accessibility of the ingredients9/10
Is it a scamNO
Would I recommend you making itYES

••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••

Make sure to let me know how you like the idea of this series in the comments bellow. Feel free to leave any suggestions that come to your mind as well, I really appreciate it.

••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••

Have a wonderful day!🦄

Nina ✨

Sort:  

Love your new post series! The snicker bars look good! getting hungry again!

Thank you so much! :) They truly are soooo good!!

World of Photography Beta V1.0
>Learn more here<

You have earned 5.35 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 2/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.07
Server time: 19:33:25
Account Level: 1
Total XP: 209.95/200.00
Total Photos: 38
Total comments: 7
Total contest wins: 0
And have also received a 0.09 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Ohhh this looks so good =) Would love to try these some time =)

Thank you! :) Yess you should, they're amazing

Mmhhh what a delicious treat! And love that you make this series!! Great idea!

It truly is so good! Thank you so much! :)

They look really good! Would love to try them now :D

Thank you! Sending some your way haha :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 56890.04
ETH 2356.22
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.39