CHOCOLATE COCONUT DONUTS WITH JAM AND CHOCOLATE DRIZZLE 🍩🍫🥥 | vegan & healthy

in #food6 years ago (edited)

Can you ever go wrong with donuts?

I mean, they are the perfect dessert for every opportunity. And, if you make a healthy version of them, you can even have them for breakfast or as a snack. I know right, who though.

These donuts are chocolate flavored (surprise, surprise) with the base of oat flour. I love using oat flour for baking because it has a sweeter taste and is healthy as well. Instead of sugar or any other sweetener, we are using dates in this recipe. We all know how big fan of them I am. I mostly use them in baking and raw desserts, but to be honest, if I ever need a quick sugar fix and don’t have anything on hand, they are my go-to.

I don’t know about you but the combination of chocolate and coconut is one of my favorite.
Let’s be honest, pretty much everything goes well with chocolate but not that many things go with coconut. Coconut and chocolate is a combination you can never go wrong with.


I think I have to start planning my manicure to match the food I'm making..


I drizzled some chocolate sauce and jam over these for extra deliciousness. The chocolate sauce is one of my favorites as well. It’s healthy but sooo delicious. If you’ve never tried it before, I highly recommend you do so. Plus, it’s only made of two simple ingredients – cacao powder and maple syrup. Mix these two together and viola the most amazing healthy chocolate sauce is in front of you! The jam I used was a homemade cherry one which went perfectly with the chocolate and coconut combo.

These muffins are also oil-free. I’m a huge fan of oil free baking, mostly because it doesn’t mess with my skin. I used some apple sauce instead of oil which is also a great vegan egg alternative. If you don’t have any apple sauce on hand, you can easily do what I did and simply blend an apple.

Even though these can be breakfast donuts I mostly prefer to have them as a snack between meals or as a dessert but you do you. Let’s go to the recipe now, shall we?


CHOCOLATE COCONUT DONUTS WITH JAM AND CHOCOLATE DRIZZLE 🍩🍫🥥


| INGREDITENS

  • 180 g oat flour
  • 10 dates
  • 1 apple
  • 1/2 cup shredded coconut
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • ½ tsp baking soda
  • 1 cup almond milk
  • ¼ cup cacao powder
  • jam
  • chocolate sauce (3 tbsp cacao powder + 4 tbsp maple syrup)


| METHOD

1/ Preheat oven to 180°C.

2/ In a blender add chopped apple, dates and ½ cup almond milk. Blend until smooth.


3/ In a large bowl add oat flour, shredded coconut, cacao powder, baking powder and baking soda. Mix until evenly incorporated.


4/ Add the blended mixture to the bowl in which you have dry ingredients and mix. Then add the other half cup of almond milk and stir until you get smooth and even batter.



5/ Evenly divide batter into donut molds. I used piping bag for this step because I find that makes the least mess but you can also spoon it in with a spoon.


6/ Bake for 20-25 minutes.

7/ Let cool down, then drizzle with chocolate sauce and jam and enjoy!


I hope you enjoyed today's recipe! Have a wonderful day!

Nina

Sort:  

Looks amazing @nina.ser donuts and presentation looks awesome. :)

Thank you so much!! :)

Wow l love this. I love donut

Thank you!!

AJ picked your post @nina.ser for his #TOP5 FOOD POST. Visit AJ's FOOD ROUNDUP to view where your post is ranked.


You can also join The-Kitchen Discord Server for more food experience.

Thank you!!

Just like for the other day, this one too is top drawer.

Thank you!! I'm so glad you like my work!

I love it! You have a way with recipes.

Thank you so much for your support, really means a lot!

Your works deserve it. You deserve it. And much more than i can offer. But will hopefully be able to as we both grow here.

Your Recipe has been featured in the Steemkitchen Picks Of the week Article. Thank you for your continued Support. May the Hunger Stay with You

Congratulations @nina.ser! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published a post every day of the week

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:
SteemitBoard World Cup Contest - Russia vs Croatia


Participate in the SteemitBoard World Cup Contest!
Collect World Cup badges and win free SBD
Support the Gold Sponsors of the contest: @good-karma and @lukestokes


Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 64083.97
ETH 3475.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54