Discover Chongqing Food: Try The Mala Hotpot If You Dare!steemCreated with Sketch.

in #food5 years ago

Hello Peeps,

This officially marks my second post in Steemit. This is the first post in my 🍲 Discover Food series where I will share about food as I travel around the world.

Today, I would like to introduce the community one of the most popular food for locals in Chongqing - The legendary spicy mala hotpot!!! If you don't know, Chongqing is known to be one of the best heavens if you enjoy spicy food, and the local people are extremely good with spicy things. When you are in Chongqing, I can assure you that you can almost find spicy food everywhere. Chili is used commonly in any food...

Just take me as an example, I could remember when I am just a few years old, my dad started stuffing me with spicy food. :) He told me"You are not Chongqing people and my girl if you can't take spicy". Imagine that! Spicy food is our culture.

Mala means "Spicy" and refers to "麻辣" in Chinese.

Xiao Mu Deng

As a Chongqing local, I am super elated when I heard news about Xiao Mu Deng opening their restaurant in Singapore. I have been living in Singapore since 9 years back and I have always been craving for authentic spicy mala hotpot from my hometown.. As you can forsee, I am one of their first customers when the restaurant officially opened! :)

I ordered the double hotpot which basically comes with two different soup base - The mala spicy & the wild mushroom soup base.

Hotpot

This is how it looks like when the mala hotpot started boiling... Does this look scary to you?

Hotpot

Xiao Mu Deng has one of the best hotpot design - Look at the dragon head.

Hotpot

There is also a sauce station by which you can choose to mix your own sauce. The right way to eat mala hotpot is that people will boil the ingredients in the mala hotpot and then dip the cooked food into the sauces before savoring it.

Hotpot sauce

The ingredients dishes and the hotpot soup base are charged separately. I am super hungry, thus I ordered quite a lot of food!

Menu

Here are some sneak preview of the dishes you can order. The food are pretty fresh, not bad.

Dishes

Dishes

Dishes

Getting to Xiao Mu Deng Restaurant


If you are in Singapore no and would like to try this out, below is the address.

Xiao Mu Deng Address: 277&279 New Bridge Road #01-01. Singapore 088751/088752


Disclaimer: I am based currently based in Singapore, I am dining in an Chongqing hotpot chain called Xiao Mu Deng which just recently opened its first restaurant in Singapore. It's pretty authentic, but if you want to experience the best real authentic Chongqing hotpot, make a trip to @Chongqing! Buzz me when you visit Chongqing. Happy to bring you around if I am back in city.

How do you like it? Let me know what you think about Chongqing Mala Spicy Hotpot. Or if you ever tried spicy mala hotpot?

If you like posts like this, vote it up! That will be super encouraging. I can't wait to share you with you more in the next 🍲Discover Food #discoverfood series.

Sort:  

Awesome. My brother just left Singapore tonight - I would have sent this to him to go try :) It' all looks so tasty.

This post came a little too late! Next time! :)

Congratulation! I have featured your post today in MY ENTRY POST.This is a weekly contest by @pifc and @thedarkhorse, Pay it Forward Curation Contest.
Have a nice day!!

Posted using Partiko Android

Great post! I like seeing food in other places.

I found your post thanks to @aggamun who featured it in the Pay it Forward Curation Contest. Keep up the great work!

@aggamun has featured you in the @pifc and read you amazing and long blog, great keep this up. upvoted offcourse

whoa.. that soup pot really wonderful and I belive that the soup really spicy and delicious from its look. you must be really hungry and missing your hometown so much, so you almost ate everything you could @nicoleli, LOL.. thanks for sharing with us your food-travel. found your post through @aggamun entry post in the pay it forward contest this week.

Always interesting to see different types of food choices,
I found your post through the pay it forward curation where you were featured by @aggarmun

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63464.16
ETH 3111.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.98