I'm so excited to join the Steemit community after 10 years on YouTube

in #food7 years ago (edited)

G'Day lovely people!

My name is Rob Nixon from 'Nicko's Kitchen'. I've been creating content for almost 10 years on YouTube based in Australia. To put that into perspective My Space was still around and very popular, Twitter was still very young as was Facebook, the iPhone had just turned 1 and there was no Instagram or Snapchat and most of my audience was in there teens and now are married with children (Yes it makes me feel so old even though I'm only 33) Since 2008 my mission has been to get people back into the kitchen and get cooking. I don't mind if you are after a Big Mac or something healthier the only thing I preach is you make it at home. Over the years I have grown my YouTube channel to over 1 million subscribers and my Facebook page has almost 2 million likes.

12307453_10153879364743706_9116616993384625419_o.jpg Berry Meringue Wreath

I grew up around two amazing home cooks, my Mum and my Nanna. They got me into cooking at 6 years old. I still remember making my cooking debut after much practice - I made a 3 course menu for my family - Garlic Bread to start, Beef Stir Fry for mains and an Orange Cake for dessert. I still have my first cookbook I got the recipes from, in fact I have our families recipe treasure box that have recipes in it from the early 1900's, I add to it and my children will do the same eventually. It's an amazing food time capsule and I look forward to sharing it with you.

12391248_10153924100933706_2042838637629205869_n.jpg 4 Generations of cooks in the kitchen, my mum and Nanna along with my daughter

I started creating content on YouTube in 2008 and called my channel 'Nicko's Kitchen'. Many people think my name is Nick, but the name 'Nicko' comes from my last name Nixon - here in Australia most people are given nicknames by friends, it was my Dads nickname also. I thought of it as another way to honour my Dad who passed away when I was 3. In my wildest dreams I had no idea what the next 9 years would bring. I had my 'Issac Newton' moment when I uploaded a video to YouTube making Lamingtons (an Australia dessert). I received an email from a couple in Iraq who posted me a picture of the Lamingtons they made and thanking me for introducing them to this recipe. I was shocked! My country is at war with Iraq and they're making an iconic Australia dish - I was in love with the idea my recipes were truly on a world scale and no matter what differences we all have, food always brings us together.

12184099_10207551341095132_8473739925196786752_o.jpg My daughter Imogen learning about Strawberries at a local farm

Over my time creating food content I've had so many amazing experiences. From meeting our Prime Minster to discuss the digital economy, stage shows all around the world and of course many cooking competitions where I get to judge. I've been on TV, radio, newspapers but I have never stepped away from my main focus - getting people into the kitchen. My favourite feedback isn't from the press but when someone writes to me and tells me they have passed cooking school because of my recipes or that they have become a cook because they grew up watching me.

13418575_10209173294162945_7323655650250815281_o.jpg Judging the 2016 Best Burger Competition for Western Australia

Sadly YouTube is changing and pushing the 'grass root' creators like me away. It wont stop me from my cooking goals and that's why I'm very excited to share my food with you here on Steemit.

Already I feel so welcome here, I'm really enjoying getting to know a whole new group of people who are so talented.

Thank you and I can't wait to share my passion with you all 😊

My Steak Tartare - one my favourite dishes

Pic Jointer3.png
My favourite recipe of all

Sort:  

Welcome aboard Rob, I can see some great content coming!

Massive thanks to @allasyummyfood for her post :) Alla asked if I could post a picture of me with todays date so you know its me and verified. Thanks for all the love so far, you're all amazing!

IMG_4352.JPG

Excellent work @allasyummyfood! Thanks for bringing valuable new users to Steemit! :)

Haha nice youtube medal in the background ;)

This is incredible! Welcome to Steemit Nickos! I'm excited to see all that you will share with us!

Welcome! Any friend of @allasyummyfood is a friend of mine! Cant wait to see what you can bring to the steemit food community.
upvote_initiative.png
50% UpVoted & Re-steemed! More about the Initiative here...
Remember To Vote blueorgy for witness!

thank you very much!

Welcome Nicko! So excited to see your 4 generation old recipe treasure trove spill our into Steemit and illuminate some oldies and goodies! I'm new on here, too, cooking from my family's homestead in the Endless Mountains of PA, Estados Fracasados. I also have a daughter with piercing blue eyes like yours. When she ate Strawberries for the first time she rubbed it ALL over her body! I think she wanted to become that incredible flavor explosion, who can blame her! Anyway, looking forward to sharing recipes and inspiration! You are going to like this place!

PS - upvoted and re-steemed! Check me and and maybe give a follow if you are inclined :-)

Welcome to steemit @nickoskitchen, I found you through @allasyummyfood. Looking forwards to your recipe's and awww the last recipe on this blog is definitely the best :)!

Thanks @margojensen Yeah that recipe is a classic ;)

Hello Rob, another "heavy weight" :-) joining Steemit, nice :-)
Welcome and enjoy :-)

Welcome to Steemit! I know a number of friends with moderately successful YouTube channels (can't say I know anyone quite as popular as you) that have had a similar experience. Glad to see you on board here, friend. I think you'll enjoy the community we've been building since 2016. Best of luck to you! I don't think you'll have any trouble fitting in and succeeding. :D

P.S. I haven't been in the kitchen in quite some time. Might have to give it a shot again; never tried Australian food befor

Thanks @anarcho-andrei :) well I'll have to get you back in there again!

Welcome to Steem!

Nicko, this is awesome. Welcome to this incredible platform.

If you started YouTube 10 years ago, then you joined right on time for it's gold-rush! Seems like you and timing are good friends! This is exactly the same for Steemit right now. I think it will soar as far, if not further than YouTube has!

I take it you know what you are doing in terms of building a solid audience. 186 million+ views, I have no doubt LOL! In terms of content monetization, if you even bring 5% of your other audience onto this platform, it'll be crazy growth for your account.

Where Steemit is at the moment, reminds me of when people like Pewdiepie also only had a couple thousand subscribers, and through exponential growth a couple years later, sitting on 50+ million.

I am very confident in what's happening. I wish you the best of luck, and hope we can be long-term friends here. I also only joined about 20 days ago, so also new here. I missed so many social media rushes, and I will not let that happen this time :)

See you at the top! Talk soon.

Thanks for the welcome :) It reminds me so much of where YouTube was in the beginning - a very exciting adventure awaits, all the best to you as well and look forward to chatting more with you

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.036
BTC 65930.92
ETH 3387.67
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.75