Hidden Gems of Kuala Lumpur EP. 1 - Cendol Sulaiman (Pudu Market)

in #food7 years ago

I guess it's time I share my little hobby with the world. I love to explore big cities, especially my own hometown Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia. I love walking in sketchy alleys looking for street vendors. That's where you find delicious, lovely foods for less than $1.


I'll start with my favorite, Sulaiman's Cendol & Rojak in Pudu Market. Hidden at the back of a post office in Jalan Pudu. So, how did I find it? My family used to shop there every weekend and me as a kid (back in the early 90s) will have to stay there waiting for my grandma. We'll sit there for about an hour, enjoying Cendol & Rojak Sotong (Squid).


>>>>>>Click here for Google Map location<<<<<<

What is Cendol?



Image source: https://ilovemsiafood.wordpress.com

It's a local dessert. Shaved ice served with coconut milk, palm sugar syrup, corn, kidney beans, glutinous/sticky rice & little green rice flour 'worms'.



This is how they prepare the shaved ice. They used to use the manual hand cranked machine, but not anymore.

What about the price?


Oooohhh, look at that menu! For the regular Cendol, it will only cost you MYR1.30, that's about USD0.30! Wanna add glutinous/sticky rice to your Cendol? Just add another MYR0.10 (USD0.02)! HOW CRAZY IS THAT!?

If you ever come to malaysia, please visit this place. You'll never want to miss this one, a truly hidden gem. You can take STAR LRT train and stop at the Pudu station, then you'll have to walk for about 2 minutes from the station. A short good walk to burn all the calories after eating this sinful dessert!

What do you think about this dessert? Will you try it? Let me know in the comment section below!


Sort:  

Cool. Will definitely try when in KL :)

Great! I'll post more hidden gems in KL soon. Btw, where are you from?

I'm based in JB. Used to work in KL though.

Woah! What a coincidence, I'll be in JB tomorrow for my best friend wedding. Any good spots I should visit? Only one place so far, grilled steamboat in front of Plaza Sentosa.

Haha. I'm not a real foodie myself. It's a shame really. But for snacks between meals can try Kacang Pool Haji in Larkin.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 60938.00
ETH 2386.38
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.57