Zesty Grilled Garlic Lime Chicken: a snap to make, a delight to eat

in #food6 years ago (edited)

As I've said before: what could be better than a delicious, healthy meal that doesn't create a million dishes, is almost no work to make, and that your kids will eat? :) My entry to @knowledge-seeker's weekly Homestead Photography Contest is my take on Taste of Home's Garlic Lime Chicken. It's definitely a grill-season favorite in our house.

IMG_1065.jpg

The key to making the chicken extra zesty--and extra tender and juicy? Pickle brining!! This is an optional step that you can skip and still have delicious results.

IMG_6001.jpg

Every time I use up a jar of pickles, I save the juice until I have a jar full, and then brine chicken with it at some point. The bonus about this particular brand is that the juice is already full of garlic, capers, and other spices. The night before we had this chicken for dinner, I poured the juice into a large bowl, submerged the chicken, and then covered it and put it in the refrigerator.

IMG_6002.jpg

The next morning, I gathered the marinade ingredients and a large resealable plastic bag.

INGREDIENTS
1/2 cup lime juice
1/4 cup cider vinegar
6 garlic cloves, minced
2 tablespoons minced fresh oregano or 2 teaspoons dried oregano
1 tablespoon dried coriander
2 teaspoons pepper
1 teaspoon salt
1 teaspoon paprika

Note: the original recipe calls for 4 pounds of bone-in chicken breast halves, and browning them in oil before putting them in the oven. I prefer to use 3-4 pounds of boneless skinless chicken breasts, and grill them.

IMG_6005.jpg

Measure all the marinade ingredients into the resealable plastic bag, seal (or fold the top down a couple times) and gently shake to combine them.

IMG_6007.jpg
This is about the only time I ever use a significant amount of coriander in anything.

Remove the chicken from the pickle juice and discard the juice. Put the chicken in the marinade bag, seal the bag, and shoosh it around a bit to get all the chicken nicely coated with the spices. Then, I like to lay the bag sideways on a curved plate or in a bowl so that all the chicken is in the marinade while it refrigerates:

IMG_6008.jpg

Marinade 8 hours or overnight. If you're able to, flip the bag a time or two during marination, so each side of the chicken gets time to soak in the liquid.

When you're ready, fire up the grill, discard the marinade, and get that chicken sizzling!! Grill time depends on how thick the chicken breasts are. The Husband (my grillmaster) likes to sear the chicken on both sides for a couple minutes on the lower rack/higher heat, then move them to the upper rack/lower heat to cook more slowly. Sometimes he'll pull them from the grill before they're completely done, and finish them in a covered dish in the microwave, to avoid drying them out on the grill. (Let them rest for a few minutes after cooking, too, to help preserve juiciness.)

IMG_1063.jpg

Serve with whatever your heart desires...in my case last night, it was a fresh salad. I skipped the potatoes so I could save the calories for wine instead, haha :)

ENJOY! And thank you for reading!

Sort:  

This looks delicious - I will be sure to try it :) YUM!!!!

It's very YUM! I hope you enjoy it :)

Mmmm... This looks really good and the presentation with the salad in the first photo is really nice. I liked how you reused the pickle juice to help flavor the chicken. Great Job!

Thanks! I ate some leftover the next day with strawberries and pineapple on the plate, and was like "aw dang, this would've made a much prettier photo!" Haha :)

Beep!Beep! @shadow3scalpel & listkeeper @chairborne have your six new veterans, retirees and military members on STEEM. We’ll be patrolling by to upvote your posts (because you are on the list) and we'll answer any questions you leave us. Comment by @shadowspub. This is a opt-in bot.

That looks really good, but every time I try to cook chicken it turns out dry, especially on the bbq. I'll have to give this a try, minus the kick so my heartburn doesn't get super mad at me, and see how it turns out. Maybe this will be the recipe that works for me. :D Thanks for sharing it. :D
God bless you and your wonderful family. :D Have an awesome day my fabulous friend! :D

Thank you! I was surprised at how much the brine kicked up the spicy lime taste. I liked it better, but the Husband said he prefers the more mellow version. Maybe I need to get the Husband to do a more detailed "how to grill juicy chicken" post :)))

Yes you should definitely get him to do one, for those of us that can't have the extra kick, perhaps make it a weekly post for both of you, yours the spicy version and his the mild. :D You could include links to each others posts on your own blogs and possibly get extra visitors. :D

I haven't been able to tempt him into joining Steemit! He'd have to be my ghost advisor and I could write it, haha :))) At this point I wonder if he's holding out just to mess with me.

That would work for me, nothing wrong with a good ghost adviser. :D If your husband likes to mess with you like mine does with me, then yes, that's exactly what he's doing. LOL. :D
God bless you and your family. :D Have an awesome day my fabulous friend! :D

Happy Sunday! This comment is to inform you that your article has been linked/featured in the most recent issue of the Weekly Homesteading Newsletter! Thank you and have a great day!

i have upvoted on your post.. also commented on your post..brother would be kind enough to upvote and comment on my post please??? thanks

It looks very delicious

Oh, it is! thank you!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 58474.85
ETH 2500.10
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.39