Weekend Food

in #food7 years ago

 I love weekends, don’t you?

Working in retail means I almost never get two days in a row off and the fact that I get Sundays off is just a happy coincidence. And now with a second job I might never get two days in a row off again.

This week, though, I lucked out. I got Sunday and Monday totally free from work.

Beyond loving the freedom to nap and read and take long walks with my dog, I also love the freedom to cook.

On the weekends I get to eat big breakfasts. 

 I get time to gradually get hungry and to think about what I really want to eat before I stuff something in my mouth. 

 Scrambled eggs with sausage and a de-licious unglazed buttermilk donut. 

 I get to cook more elaborate meals and eat earlier.

 Grilled pork chops and corn, all from the farmer’s market. 

 All of these things are vastly different from the weekdays when, more often than I would like to admit, I eat lunch (and change my pants) in the car. And lately, as I haven’t had time to shop or meal plan properly, that lunch has been a grilled chicken sandwich from Chik-fil-A way too often for my comfort level.

During the week I almost always eat eggs with fruit for breakfast and most days I am just shy of hitting my water intake goal for the day. (I have a 24oz water bottle and aim to drink it three times a day.)

My go to snack is mixed nuts, which is a very satiating snack,  but not exactly thrilling.

All of these things are nice and healthy and easy to eat, but man, do they get boring. A few weeks ago I was so sick of my usual, nice, healthy, easy food that I would have rather not eaten than eat the same thing again. (I ate a lot of takeout that week.) 

 My cute pig corn holders. 

 So weekends are my saving grace. They let me re-charge my batteries and stuff my face with the most delicious food so I’m ready to face the week ahead, which are always guaranteed to be filled with car lunches and speeding through yellow lights (sorry, papa) and hurried dog walks. 

Sort:  

Yea, cooking is relaxing for me. And of course....the eating! Enjoy your weekend and Happy Holidays.

Thanks so much @tesscooks4u :)

omg this looks so delicious!!

Congratulations @mrsfox! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

this looks so delicious dear i wish i could have some haha enjoy the new year celebration

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63267.39
ETH 2572.65
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.80