VIDEO: Canning Peaches - CLINGSTONE OR FREESTONE? ~ Which is Better?

in #food7 years ago

Steemit LogoWhat Kind of Peach Person Are You?Steemit Logo

When canning peaches, should you choose clingstone or freestone? Well it depends on what you are going to use it for later. Some people like peaches to use later for cobblers and pies. Some want that delightfully crisp sweet bite like peaches that come out of a can at the store.

This all depends what types of peaches you grow, pick and finally can for the pantry. Clingstone or Freestone.

HEY, IF YOU LIKED THE ABOVE VIDEO, GIVE US A VOTE! THANKS!

If you liked this video and want to see more off grid homesteading content, please follow to our STEEMIT page and share our videos with friends on social media! We love it when you share our videos! Also be sure to visit our blog for amazing homesteading articles that involve solar, growing gardens, raising livestock, and general off grid topics.

resteem.jpg

Sort:  

Love canning peaches!! I used to have a tree but it died a few years ago. I still have a pear tree and it looks like I will be canning a lot of pears this year. Nice video, thanks!!

Pears are yummy. Wish we had some pear trees!

I love all sorts of fruit. It sure does taste good in the winter when fresh fruit is scarce!! How long have you been canning? I started canning over 30 years ago when some neighbors asked me if I wanted some tomatoes from their garden. I said sure thinking it would be just a few. The next morning they dropped off 10 big grocery bags full of tomatoes!! I was not about to let them go to waste, so I quickly learned how to can them, LOL Been canning ever since!

That is amazing. Nothing like learning by fire. We have only been pressure canning for 4 years now. But we do it all over an open fire. So we've learned how to regulate the temp. It was tricky to learn but we've done thousands of jars that way now.

Have you canned eggs or butter yet? That was actually a new experience for me a couple of years ago. You can always learn something new!! I have had much success canning over an open fire in the past but have not done it in a long time. Just do not have the area for it where I currently live. Happy Canning!!

Great post. Love them peaches, especially in a pie. Thanks for sharing!

YES! We love the peach pies!

Not having an orchard I have to rely on what is grown in our area.

Luckily, we live in an area with a wide variety of fruits.

When the Peaches come in, one of my favorite early varieties is the Red Haven followed quickly by every other Peach that follows. ;-)

There is about a 3-4 week period in late summer when the Peaches, Plums and Nectarines come into season.

It's one of my favorite times of the year.

Our favorite time of the year as well! Thanks for watching. It means a lot!

I remember this one. My favorite part was when the judge at your festival thought Jaimie had dirt in her peaches because of the natural salt. Picked 2 gallons of blueberries today. I haven't pruned the blueberry bush in 2 years, so it looks like a blueberry tree now, but it is loaded with berries. I should try to send you a pic.

Great job on the blueberries!

Interesting. Just curious; did the freestones get cloudy right away or did that occur over time?

We love watching your family! Big fans here.

Thanks so much for watching!

see this is why I'm grafting both peaches to my apricot tree this winter

Enjoyed your video. Congrats on the blue ribbon. I canned peaches for the first time last year and did not know there was a difference between clingstone and freestone. I had bought clingstone and after canning I was told that unless I trimmed out the area where the seed had been that I could be poisoning my family because botulism could hide in that area, so playing it safe I threw them all away. Not a big deal since it was only 12 pints. I didn't want to buy a lot of peaches only to mess up in canning them. This year I will buy the freestone and can more.

Great video. i just picked up a pressure cooker a few weeks ago. Farmers markets are up and running here. Time to pack the good stuff away! Thanks for the info.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 70153.57
ETH 3783.62
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.72