You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: My Healthy 50 Cent Dinner! Tomatillos and Beans.

in #food7 years ago

I love how creative you got with this! I've been keeping my grocery bill down to about $600 a month to feed 3 adults. Granted, we almost never eat 3 meals a day but a big part of our savings it is frugal shopping and portion control.

I just recently made sausage stuffed mushrooms that were so delicious and made from left-over breakfast sausage, bread ends toasted in the oven then crushed into bread crumbs, parmesan cheese and seasoning. If I felt safe foraging for mushrooms, I might consider that a free meal! :D

Sort:  

After housing and transportation, food comes in third highest on the family expense chart. Finding ways to trim and reduce the expense seems like a never ending battle.

The sausage stuffed mushrooms sounds really good - and used up a bunch of leftover items! Big thumbs up from me.

I used to watch this show, forget the name, where they followed this couple that went around the country foraging and selling mushrooms to fancy restaurants for big bucks. I thought that sounded amazing.

OMG - I love shows like that. I fantasize about ginseng and truffles. LOL That would be like growing gold in my back yard.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60676.09
ETH 2903.83
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46