My Healthy 50 Cent Dinner! Tomatillos and Beans.

in #food7 years ago (edited)


In my last post I wrote that I am able to buy a large amount of produce for just $10.

I had plenty of tomatillos that I didn't quite know what to do with.

Well, I am not scared to experiment with my culinary skills. A quick search online showed that some people put tomatillos into chili.

It said to put the tomatillos into a pan with a bit of olive oil to soften them up. That's about as close as I followed the recipe.

(If you have never had a straight tomatillo, like myself until this past weekend, think of a granny smith apple as a tomato and you will be pretty close to the taste of one. A firm, tart tomato thingy.)

It did get my thinking of what I could do though.

Looking in the fridge I saw some leftover corn and a little bit of red pepper. They would be added.

In the cupboard was a can of black beans that had been purchased at a reduced price of $.39 because the can was double labeled. Back in the fridge was a bag of shredded cheese and a few cooked italian sausages from lunch the day before.

I cut off about 1/5th of the sausage and chopped it up. I used a sprinkle of cheese at the end to top it off.

My estimate of the cost of this dinner.

Ingredients from $10 veggie box:

  • Corn .04
  • 1/4th Red Pepper .06
  • 1lb Tomatillo .16

Other ingredients:

  • Black Beans .39
  • Splash of Olive Oil .10
  • Spices .04
  • Cheese .07
  • 1/5th of an Italian Sausage .14

The total cost was $1 but it ended up being two meals worth. So each meal was 50 cents AND healthy!

The beans said 110 calories per serving, with two servings in the can - no fat. Add in the rest of the ingredients and I think around 250 calories and 6-8 grams of fat is a good estimate. (Google said a tomatillo is about 11 calories and .3g fat)

I'm not saying that this was some amazing out of this world meal. It was a nice, healthy meal that just cost me very little.

If I was to change anything, I would add a bit more sausage as the tomatillo is tart and having something spicy to balance it out. I had a lot of tomatillo and not so much sausage. Still, I won't mind having the rest for lunch tomorrow.

If you want to try out this recipe, here it is fast and loose.

1lb diced tomatillo and red pepper in pot with a splash of olive oil. Cook for 5 minutes on medium heat. Stir as needed.

Add corn, beans, cooked chopped sausage and spices. Cook until most of the water is evaporated.

Put in bowl, and top with a sprinkle of cheese.

You probably could make this vegan by removing the sausage/cheese and instead put in a diced hot pepper of your choice to balance the tart tomatillos.

My $10 veggie haul!

What do you guys do to have cheap but healthy meals? I am always looking for new ideas to add to my frugal cooking portfolio.

Thanks for reading!

Sort:  

I love fresh vegetables. I've been a vegetarian my entire life. Nothing any better than a meal fresh from the garden🍅🍅🥒🥒

Oh yea, when you snap that pea pod off the vine and bite into it.... Well that's why you garden :)

I love this! SO frugal! So Healthy. I need to get this point.

Kaylin, I think I read one of your books on my kindle when I was flying back home from Qatar. Is Sell Everything: Get rid of all your stuff WITHOUT a yard sale! your book? :D

Amazing value for money! And I'm sure has a great taste to back it up! Nice one, brother! :)

Not bad, for lunch I added 1/4th cup of rice and removed the cheese. Still full.

This post has been ranked within the top 10 most undervalued posts in the first half of Feb 08. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $14.08 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Feb 08 - Part I. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

I love how creative you got with this! I've been keeping my grocery bill down to about $600 a month to feed 3 adults. Granted, we almost never eat 3 meals a day but a big part of our savings it is frugal shopping and portion control.

I just recently made sausage stuffed mushrooms that were so delicious and made from left-over breakfast sausage, bread ends toasted in the oven then crushed into bread crumbs, parmesan cheese and seasoning. If I felt safe foraging for mushrooms, I might consider that a free meal! :D

After housing and transportation, food comes in third highest on the family expense chart. Finding ways to trim and reduce the expense seems like a never ending battle.

The sausage stuffed mushrooms sounds really good - and used up a bunch of leftover items! Big thumbs up from me.

I used to watch this show, forget the name, where they followed this couple that went around the country foraging and selling mushrooms to fancy restaurants for big bucks. I thought that sounded amazing.

OMG - I love shows like that. I fantasize about ginseng and truffles. LOL That would be like growing gold in my back yard.

In addition to healthy and not too expensive, I love meals where the produced amount of trash is reduced (not too many packages, etc.)

This being said, I think that with your meal, we must be careful with the sausage quality. It is easy to get cheap bad ones :)

Well, they were the store brand but the wife and I find them quite good. It was $3.49 for 5 of them. They are about 6 inches long.

They have vegan substitutes for both cheese and sausage that in my opinion taste identical or nearly the same. Your meal looks like what I often eat, minus the animal products. Though another cheap meal is noodles. For like 10 cents you can have a meal, and I often throw in some vegetables into the noodles as well, so it'd prob be a lil more. But.. Those are two of the main things I eat, and I never really get tired of them.

Oh man, noodles are something that I never get tired of eating them either! My cupboards are full of all types of them!

Looks amazing, got my taste buds jumping ;)

I think it would work well as a dip for some tortilla chips too. :D

Wonderful post! Thank you for sharing! I Resteemed!

Thank you so much! :D

My mouth is watering! This sounds so yummy! Great use of tomatillos.

Thanks! After tasting this meal I know the tomatillos would be excellent in a traditional chili! Especially one that is hot as the tangy tomatillos certainly balance out that type of heat. Thanks for reading. :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.026
BTC 60616.50
ETH 2911.03
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46