Vegetarian Bean Bean Chilli (so easy to make!)

in #food8 years ago

Hot hot beans! In an earthy, merciless sauce! This is a chilli that could convert carnivores!

I love this dish. It's very hot and very deep of flavour. Smokey notes from the paprika and dangerous fruity spice from the scotch bonnets.

If you have a cold and you need your pipes cleaned this will do the job!!!

You will need


1 tin of plum tomatoes
1 tin of haricot beans
1 tin of kidney beans
1 stick of celery
2 medium carrots or 1 large
1 medium onion
3 cloves of garlic
2 scotch bonnet chillis or habaneros
2 red jalapeños
2 heaped teaspoons of cumin
1 heaped teaspoon of smoked paprika
1 not so heaped teaspoon of allspice
2 heaped teaspoons of cocoa powder. If you are stuck you can use drinking chocolate!
Rice for two
Bit of oil for frying
A vegetable stock cube and 200 mls of hot water to dissolve it in
Squirt of tomato paste

To make

Put your rice on

Then finely chop your onion, garlic, scotch bonnets and red jalapeños. Dice your celery not so small


Look at all that chilli, there are going to be rivers of fire!

Put a large pan on a medium heat with a slug of oil and pop your onion, garlic, scotch bonnets, red jalapeños and celery and fry for a few minutes

Whizz your tomatoes up somehow, I use a stick blender.

Chop your carrot up coarsely and add to the pit of seething goodness.

After the carrots have had a couple of minutes drain and rinse your beans. Then add to the pot.

I forgot to put my spices in the you will need picture! Here they are!

Now add your cumin, paprika, allspice and cocoa powder.

Then add your blended tomatoes

Dissolve your stock cube in the hot water and add to the pot with a squirt of tomato paste. And simmer on a medium low heat.

Drain your rice!

Simmer your chilli for fifteen to twenty minutes till it thickens up and becomes more sludgey

Then it will be ready!! Serve up!!

And enjoy!!

raar!!

Sort:  

For you my friend I shall try!!!

Thank you, it's very tasty!

Bean Bean with could lead to Bam Bam, maybe? Sorry, sounded funnier in my head. Great pics and great idea as always - Steem ON!

Haha, it's sounding pretty funny to me!!! Thank you!!!

Makes those Beans goes Bang Bang alright

Cheers dude, glad you like!!

I love rice. Anything with rice I will try, except i would go easy on the jalapeño and spicyness.

Me too, rice is one of my favourite things. I love lots of it normally as well!! You would defo have to go easy on the chillis as this is a very hot dish!

I had gulash yesterday. amazing.
I'll try this soon and i'll add the hottest hot sauce i have....God's Slayer!

That's the kind of hot sauce that every dish needs!!! I have never tried gulash!

It sounds fucking awesome. I gonna get some :0)

Upvoted and resteemed!
Dish so perfect for yesterday since it was World Vegetarian Day :)

Aw wow thank you!! I never even realised that was yesterday too!

Ahhh simple rice meal with amazing toppings.

Simple is the best isn't it!! :0)

Looks great man! I bet it was yummmy too:)

Why thank ya! It sure was!

It looks delicious! This made me hungry!

My plan is working!!! Hehe. Thank you

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 66109.31
ETH 3290.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.71