Tonight's Healthy Habanero Spanish'y Omelete dinner!

in #food8 years ago

A healthy, low cal, devilishly spicy take on a Spanish omelette!

Its still summer and I am waiting for my six pack to arrive but it seems to be lost in transit. To help it along I thought I would cut down a little and tonight is the first of many delights I am going to tickle myself with.

You will need

5 large eggs
3 cloves of garlic
Half a habanero or scotch bonnet pepper
1 medium sized onion
1 slightly large potato.

To Make

Peel and slice your potato nice and thin.

Boil your potato in lightly salted water for about 8 - 10 minutes until its soft but retains a bit of bite.

Set aside in a colander/drainer to cool.

Chop your habanero, garlic and onion finely making sure that the onion in particular is nice and thin.

Give the onion, garlic and chilli a little stir fry in either a spray or two of oil or a teaspoon of oil for a couple of mins. Then take it off the heat and let it cool for a few mins.

Beat your eggs till nice and fluffy and season with a pinch of salt and grind of pepper and then add your nicely cooled potatoes, onion, chilli and garlic. Give them a stir so everything is coated.

Now heat a smallish pan, mine is 8 inches in diameter (ooer) over a middle to low heat and slide your eggy mix in.

Now whilst that gently cooks, and gentle it should be. Chop up a load of broccoli and bang it in another pan on a higher heat, season with a little salt and some lemon juice.

Give that a good old stir fry for a couple of mins, whilst this and the egg mixture is cooking get your grill on medium high!

In a normal spanish omelette you cook it really slowly then flip it over with the help of a plate or another pan then cook slowly on the other side too but hey, I am going out tonight and fancy escaping before midnight.

So now take your omelette'y pan off the heat and fire under that grill. Give it three or four minutes.

Take it out and give an experimental slice to make sure its cooked through, if not then back under the grill for a minute or two. If it's ready...

Slice and serve up with your brocolli!!

Enjoy!

Sort:  

this looks delicious might have to add it to next weeks meal plan.

Everyone loves it when a plan comes together! :0)

I think I'll make it tonight! looks light. I'll serve with a salad. Good way to start the week!

Aaah salad, I knew i was missing something!! :0)



I served it with watermelon salad (with feta and fresh mint and a touch of oil/balsamic and s/p
THANK YOU!

Amazing, I am glad you liked it and that sounds like an excellent accompaniment!

Looking nice. I think my 6-pack must be in the same place as yours.

Hehe, yes its a common problem!

Nothing like a good omelette @meesterboom thank you for the recipe

You are very welcome!!

MMMM, this looks delicious! definitely going to try this

Fabulous, thank you. I am sure you will enjoy and you can save some in the fridge for later too!

looks lovely!! I'm hungry also!

Cheers!! I am going to eat some more of it now!

This post has been linked to from another place on Steem.

Learn more about linkback bot v0.3

Upvote if you want the bot to continue posting linkbacks for your posts. Flag if otherwise. Built by @ontofractal


Your recipe was added to the Steemit Cookbook Week #4!

Oh wow, that fantastic. Thank you! I am going to check it out!

Super sencillo y saludable!
Super simple and healthy!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 60046.04
ETH 2997.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.71