Steemit Culinary Challenge #12: Caveman Chicken!

in #food7 years ago (edited)

The Steemit Culinary Challenge!! It's been a while but it still fits like a glove. A buttery, rosemary and garlic glove! Let's not forget a dash of green chilli to keep things interesting!!

I was sitting feeling peckish and a little bored and thought I would rustle up some grub. Then I thought, why not throw together a little chicken surprise for the SCC! A big thank you to @englishtchrivy and all the sponsors for making this contest such a great thing for steemit!

You will need

2 plump breasts of chicken
A whole broccoli stalk
2 medium carrots or 1 biggy
3 cloves of garlic
2 sprigs of rosemary
1 fine green finger chilli
1 teaspoon of coriander seeds
1 bay leaf
50 grams of lovely unsalted butter
A little sea salt

A spiraliser or a grater

I nearly fell into a hole cutting my rosemary sprigs off in the dark!

And a beautiful sign to demonstrate your willingness to conform to the rules! :0)

Onwards!!!

To make

Get a pan on a medium heat and throw most of your butter, sprigs of rosemary and bay leaf into it

After the butter has started to sizzle, severely bash your garlic cloves and put them in too. Closely followed by those lovely breasts. Sprinkle a little sea salt on the chicken

Whilst that is cooking, get the most infernal of devices out of the cupboard... Yes, the spiraliser!! If you don't have one you can grate them

Give your carrots a spiraliser on the noodle blade

Then trim the sides from your broccoli stem and bosh that in and do the same

Leaving you a lovely plate of veggie noodles! So vibrant it makes me want to dance!

If your spiraliser is like mine it leaves cute little cylinders from the middle of the spiralised veg. Never waste a thing that's what I say. Get chomping!

Don't forget your chicken whilst you have been having all that veg turning fun. Make sure to flip it regularly. Although a wee bit of caramelisation gives bags of flavour!

Also give them a baste now and then, keep them juicy.

After about ten minutes the chicken will be just about done. Quickly wallop the last bit of butter in a small pan followed by your green chilli and coriander.

Give it a little sizzle for thirty seconds before popping in your broccoli and carrot. Fry for only a minute so that the veg keeps its crunch and colour

And that's you!! Stick your veg on a plate, slice your chicken down the middle, arrange artfully ;0) and serve!!!

Phwoar!! I feel like super paleo man!! You can too! Get cooking!

Sort:  

boom.. and out comes a healthy chicken meal.
I saw the spiral slicer thing before. Looks like good fun too.

You can beat a bit of healthy chicken!! It is good fun, I use it quite a lot.

Thank you for posting @meesterboom. We appreciate your tenacity here at Steemit and the energy you bring with you....it is contagious.

This week what does bleujay have on the menu...chicken...and this is just the recipe for it...thank you for your timeliness...maybe that is a word...je n'se pas.

What chef has not gone out in the dark in search of an herb to a perfectly familiar garden patch only to bump into something...fall over something...what not....just amazing....it must be part of the package.

All the best to you and yours. Kind Regards.....bleujay

Chicken, it is a great thing isnt it. It was tres amusing to be clumping about in the garden wishing that there was some moonlight or something to see by.

Thank you very much for your smashing comment :O)

Weeeeeeeeee!!! I am so happy right now! Thank you @englishtchrivy!!! :0)

Looks yummy! Another recipe to add to my to do list! :)

Smashing! I hope you enjoy!

What a beautiful presentation!

Its not bad, I wish I had a big lovely chunk of wooden table and lighting like yours though, I am combatting the yellow light of indoor winter over here!! Thank you!

Wow! Congrats on first place. I knew this was a winner when I first saw it. Makes the 1.87 not hurt so bad. When I read your title, I can't help but think of the cartoon 'captain caveman.'

Cheers! Haha, yeah that 1.87 was a bit of a blow!

Captain Caveman. There's a blast from the past. Now I will be shouting that in my head all day!

You're welcome

Is that cashew? I'm guessing that was used as a snack until the food was ready :)
I should get myself a spiralizer, those veggie noodles look nice.
Great job!

Well spotted! I had toasted some cashews to put in it but at the end decided the dish was simpler and nicer without!!

Jeepers I don't know what "HOIK" means in Scotland, but never tell a Kiwi to do that in your food! :)

"Quickly hoik the last bit of butter in a small pan followed by your green chilli and coriander"

No way!! InScotland it is like a kind of throw! I have updated! lol! Thank you

I have that spiralizer its a buga to clean. Love the food yum yum

Cheers! Lol, there was me thinking it was a doddle to clean! Lol,I just take it to bits and hold it under the tap!

I must be doing it wrong lol

Ha, maybe you are doing it right and mine is just filthy heh heh!

Haha maybe, get scrubbing that spiralizer lol

RS this for you!

Yummo!

I had a dream about your chicken.

I hope it wasn't a nightmare and it was getting all bitey bitey!!!! :OD

bahahaha!!!

If you have not checked out @rebeccaryan's food posts, ( I think you have, you guys are in the same contest threads) -- that is where my droolly, broken, bachelor food dream usually happen hahahaha!!!

Lol, I have indeed checked them out! They are very good!

Lol'ing at droolly, broken, bachelor food dream!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 58169.95
ETH 3145.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.38