The Best I Ever Had Was In 1979

in #food7 years ago (edited)

So many stories my husband and I tell always start with the phrase "The best I ever had..."

supreme-1245721_640.jpg

I should mention we love food. We both love to cook and love to try new restaurants. Restaurant food just isn't as good as it use to be years ago though. My husband will tell you the best Wendy burger he ever had was back in 1979. This was back before food quality dropped off and a time when fast food restaurants cared about the quality of their ingredients.

The best chocolate chip cookie I had was in 1996. The movie 101 Dalmatians (the live action one) was released. My mom bought me a tin of chocolate chip cookies in a 101 Dalmatians collectable tin. Those were some of the most amazing chocolate chip cookies I've ever had. I compare every packaged chocolate chip cookie to them.

chocolate-chip-cookie-992768_640.jpg

My husband will tell you the best Philly cheesesteak he's eaten was 15 years ago and that Hardees was amazing back in the 1980s.

I do remember the Wendy's was better before the "shrink ray" happened. I remember after the stock market crash of 2008 corporations used that as an excuse to shrink the amount of product they gave people while keeping the price the same. I use to be happy ordering 2 junior burgers from Wendy's. Then the meat shrank significantly. I stopped ordering the junior burgers because I was so mad they made them so small.

The best hamburger I ever ate was in Beaumont, TX at a place called Willy Burger. I've never had a burger as good and I've tried burgers all over the U.S. I am 100% sure I'll be traveling back to Willy Burger someday to relive that best burger.

abstract-1238246_640(1).jpg

The best milkshake I ever had was in Brookings, SD at a little shop that served diner food. It was an apple pie milkshake. I've never had a milkshake with a piece of pie broken up into it. Since then I've always kept my eye out for apple pie ice cream. It's rare and hard to find but my favorite.

I could keep going but it's a very long list. I could name "the best I ever had" for so many great foods.

What is the best you've ever had?

Photo credit: Pixabay

Sort:  

We had a restaurant called Gurneyburgers. Not sure if I have the spelling accurate as they went out of business so long ago it's hard to remember. I always enjoyed their burgers the most which I might consider the best in fast food. The shredded lettuce with tomatoes and onion where great but the mayonnaise they used was really what made it my favorite. Sonic and Primo restaurants today use similar if not the mayonnaise which reminds me of it, but more than just that first taste is the memories that usually accompany it if you where happy in the moment a special tasting memory is forever in bedded in your mind to compare all others too. It's like that with many other "first" sensations and experiences. So create many happy first moments as they will be your comparison ones for future reference.

The best I ever had dessert wise was a death by chocolate gelato tower at Chocolat, an orange blossom creme brûlée made by my dear friend who was the chef at the Hotel Del Coronado, and a wonderful seafood pasta in a lovely béchamel sauce and a side of corn chowder with a crabcake from my friend Tim's restaurant "Adam's Ave Grill" which is now closed :(

Very nice blog
You remember lot of things

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 55157.38
ETH 2317.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.33