The Bitter Dahlia - This Doesn't Suck: Home Bartending

in #food7 years ago

Me again, SteemIt!

Life sure does have a way of getting in the way of living, doesn't it? There are tons of fun, exciting, and anxiety inducing things rolling around me lately but I'm putting that all aside to bring you another awesome cocktail.

This drink is potentially controversial because it depends on two things that many people have strong reactions to: mescal and Campari. I've learned that if you put them together in the right way, even the most skeptical drinkers will really enjoy it.

I personally have grown to love mescal, primarily because I finally found some that weren't completely overpowering in the smokiness. The Mestizo Mescal is a great example. It's one of the first ones that I got on my own that I really liked. There are plenty of other mescals out there that will work so find some locals at the store and get some advice.

Campari is also something that can be scary but shouldn't be. Don't go crazy with it unless you like bitter cocktails and amaro. I personally love them but I kept the amount smaller than normal for this one.

I also really want to recommend you use a turbinado simple syrup. You can definitely use simple pure cane sugar, but the deep malty flavor of the turbinado sugar really works well with a complex liquor like mescal and Campari.

Now for the really fun and scary part. Rinse that glass with some absinthe. It has a strong anise flavor but with just a rinse it adds and unique depth to the drink that you should check out. If you don't have absinthe, a bottle will last you forever. So consider it an investment. I've actually started putting absinthe in an atomizer so I can just spray in the glass or over the top of the finished drink. Works great and it keeps me from wasting a bunch of absinthe down the drain.

And somebody out there give me some science answers... muddle some strawberries and it gets even smokier. WHY??

I assumed strawberries would add a nice sweetness to the drink but I had no idea they would make the mescal seem smokier. It's amazing and I kinda love it. You should try it and see what you think.

I hope you try this and if you do please let me know what you think. Especially let me know if you try putting some strawberries in it. Am I crazy?

As always the recipe is in the video but I'll post in the replies if you ask and the first person to ask gets an up-vote.

Thanks for hanging out today and here's looking at you, kid!


Check out my other posts for more cocktail recipes

Sort:  

Congratulations @markgatx! You have received a personal award!

1 Year on Steemit
Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:
SteemitBoard and the Veterans on Steemit - The First Community Badge.

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @markgatx! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 53776.88
ETH 2232.91
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.30