Nearly Perfect Pie Crust

in #food7 years ago

I had two items needing pie crusts for their presentation at our Porch Stand Market, today. Sometimes pie crust and I get along, sometimes we don't. I'd heard about this 'miraculous' pie crust recipe, so this was the time to use it!

pie crust 1 hand pies.jpg

Credits for this go to Lenn at Allrecipes.com. It's a winner in my book!

Lenn's Grandma's Pie Crust

  • 2-1/2 cups all purpose flour
  • 1 cup shortening
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 1 egg
  • 1/4 cup cold water
  • 1 tablespoon distilled white vinegar (the cheap stuff!)

pie crust 2 shortening worked into flour.jpg

Start by whisking your flour and salt together in a large mixing bowl. Add the shortening in chunks. Work this in with your fingertips until it looks like this. I couldn't get a picture of the finger work without making a mess! The shortening actually works into the flour pretty easily; just keep massaging it gently. It's a zen moment. ;)

pie crust 3 vinegar water egg.jpg

Now for the wet ingredients...a quarter cup of ice water, a tablespoon of vinegar and an egg. So simple!

pie crust 4 vinegar water egg mixed.jpg

All go into the measuring cup, and give it a good mix up!

pie crust 6 dump mix in well.jpg

Make a well in the flour mixture and dump the wet mix in all at once. Couldn't be easier!

pie crust 7 mix with spatula to wet.jpg

Toss this all together with a small spatula until it's all moistened and coming together.

pie crust 8 finish by hand.jpg

Finish the dough by hand, kneading. It comes together quickly, a moist dough. Form it into a log.

pie crust 9 log cut in half.jpg

Cut the log into two equal portions for regular pie crusts.

pie crust 10 two wrapped.jpg

Wrap them in plastic wrap and refrigerate for an hour or longer. I did mine last night, as I knew this morning would be too hectic. I had the Irish Hand Pies, a Broccoli Bacon Cheddar Quiche and the Irish Chicken & Dumplings to get knocked out. This pie crust recipe did not disappoint! I could kiss Lenn's grandma!

This dough is rolled between two sheets of wax or parchment paper. It stay moist. It went right into the pie pan like a charm, and when used for the hand pies, the edges sealed without extra moisture, as the dough is moist already. I simply used a wash of half & half on the hand pies, pictured at the top. The clients have said how delicious and flaky the crust is. That's a sure winner, in my book, any day of the week!

pie crust 11 the quiche.jpg

You can see how flaky the crust is in this picture! I'd encourage everyone to give this a shot! I'll share the recipes for the fillings for both of these, the Quiche and the Irish Hand Pies, this coming week. Until later, my friends, Steem on!


Directory of Steemit Posts
Community Forums

Sort:  

I'll have to try that out! You were brave trying out a new recipe for the first time for clients! :)

Thank you. I'd heard such good reviews about this crust! So when I put it together the night before, I could tell, by the feel, it would be a winner. At that point, there was still time to go back and do another...so, it wasn't really risky, at all. I'm a big weenie...gotta have a back-up plan for every contingency! lolol

Ah, good thing you had a backup figured out, and even better that you didn't have to use it! I bought apples today to make an apple pie and I intend to try out this crust. I've heard of using vinegar in pie crust before, but never an egg. So I'm definitely intrigued!

World of Photography Beta V1.0
>Learn more here<

You have earned 5.15 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.03
Server time: 22:04:32
Account Level: 1
Total XP: 182.30/200.00
Total Photos: 31
Total comments: 18
Total contest wins: 0
And have also received a 0.10 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

That quiche looks so delicious. I love a flaky pie crust!

Me too...this crust is my 'keeper'...love it!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63498.69
ETH 2645.91
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.80