Cheap Healthy College Student Meal : Oriental Mixed Vegetables

in #food6 years ago (edited)

It is the last week of October, that means cash is getting tight and it's almost difficult to get by. Worry no more, I am bringing you a solution. My recipes are easy, budget friendly and delicious. 🤤👩‍🍳

I recently ran a poll among my peers. 7/12 said vegetables are expensive. Now, I wonder where did they buy the vegetables from? I mostly spend 1$-2$ for a day whole meal. Except guacamole which contains avocado. It was a little pricey for me.

Not to mention, I do minimalist cooking. So all of my recipes will either pot, or fry based. I want to emphasize that creating a delicious meal doesn't have to be too complicated.

I eat raw fruits too. So wait for my raw fruits recipe and see if I can make something of it 🙂







Methods:

  1. Add all the vegetables and the water in a pot. Let it cook for about 20 minutes.
  2. Next, add the oyster sauce and the condiments.
  3. Wait until the vegetable cooks properly.
  4. Make sure it’s not too dry, stir for another 5 minutes
  5. Serve while it’s hot.

Notes :

  1. This recipe serves about 2-3 person especially if you serve it with rice. In my case, I don’t eat rice often so, I can eat huge plate of it myself.

  2. Do not forget to add chopped chilies and onion. I think onion really adds flavor to this recipe.

  3. I find this recipe very simple to make. If you are vegan, just skip the oyster sauce and add other condiments of your preference such as soy sauce. I think what makes food oriental is the usage of oyster and soy sauce.

  4. This is by far, the easiest recipe. All you have to do is chop, chop and sprinkle spices here and there.

  5. Make sure that the vegetables absorb the spices, else it’s blend and tasteless.




Find out my other simple vegan/vegetarian recipe

TitleLinks
Vegan or Vegetarian
Broccoli Ricehttps://steemit.com/life/@macchiata/hard-fvck-20-and-fail-broccoli-ricevegan
Cauliflower Ricehttps://steemit.com/food/@macchiata/cheap-healthy-college-student-meal-cauliflower-ricevegan
Mashed Potatoes But With Coconut Milkhttps://steemit.com/food/@macchiata/cheap-healthy-college-student-meal-mashed-potatoes-but-with-coconut-milkvegan/vegetarian
Guacamolehttps://steemit.com/food/@macchiata/cheap-healthy-college-student-meal-let-s-try-guacamolevegan/vegetarian

⚠️If you try this recipe, don't forget to tell me. Also, if you want me to keep sharing college food hack, give me a feedback or ideas. I appreciate them.

⚠️If you get addicted with this recipe, don't blame me. It's delicious.

Sort:  

Mixed veggies are infact super healthy and full of nutrients and minerals and loads of vitamins.

Indeed, if you have not tried, t hen I think you should! But, if you have, what are you favorite mix?

Carrots, Broccoli, peas and red & yellow bell peppers. Tomatoes and cucumber is always there for the juicy component. Cheers.

OMGGG I'll try to record something! thank you for inviting me haha

Haha waiting for ya :D

Wow! I am going to have to try this out!!

Well when I get a chance to start eating more like this!!

Awesome didn't even know!! Your a hacker! Haha!!

hahah when the budget's tight, you gotta be a hacker :D

True that!! Yea I kept telling my self I was going to have fun this winter!!

If I can get to where I only had to go to the store like only once a week it would be amazing!(right now its every day!)
Baby steps!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 62205.55
ETH 2397.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50