Cheap Healthy College Student Meal : Let's Try Guacamole

in #food5 years ago (edited)

Despite having too many things to do, I ended up doing nothing for the past 4 days. It was all began after I consumed meal that I suspect containing too much MSG (monosodium glutamat). It certainly baffles me given it was a proper vegetarian meal. Although, it is not a secret that most of Asian food will contain a flavor enhancer, still I was surprised. I thought, it was a clean and healthy meal.

And so, because I desperately needing my motivation and energy back, I went to grocery store. Funny, the previous night, I was just scrolling over meal at my food delivery service and watching couple of youtube videos.

Then, in the morning I was thinking " what if I make guacamole? and buy doritos?"

So hey @elteamgordo, can you review my guacamole and tell me the secret of authentic guacamole recipe?







Notes:

  • I know for sure why there's a saying " don't buy avocados if you want a house". Cause it's actually a little pricey to buy avocado. So, if you are college student like myself, just make sure it's either your cheat meal or heartbroken menu.

  • Crazy but I actually added plain greek yoghurt. It smoothen the salsa but I bet @elteamgordo won't approve this version.

  • I was considering adding Jalapeno. But, I still love my gut. Thus, I opt with red fat chilies.

  • Adding seasoning like salt and oregano are fine. BUT PLEASE NO MSG, unless you want to sleep all day and do nothing. If you love idleness, then add a pack of MSG.

  • I was not using doritos but low sugar Tortilla chips. It was also cheap. I take whatever cheap and discounted offers as long as it serve the same purpose without lessening the quality.

  • Also, this makes a good food if you want to impress your friend with ordinary cooking skills. Make sure to serve with drinks of your choice.




If you try this recipe, don't forget to tell me. Also, if you want me to keep sharing college food hack, give me a feedback or ideas. I appreciate them.

If you get addicted with this recipe, don't blame me. It's delicious.

Sort:  

I was so surprised by your idea to add plain greek yoghurt. I love greek yoghurt so much and your idea is just AMAZING good!

Will do it this way (your way!) next time, for sure! Thank you very much for this wonderful inspiration!

Please do, although it might not be as authentic as aztec guacamole!

What do you mean you "...ended up doing nothing..."?! You were just through a great 'landslide event' on Discord and not only survived with style and grace, you helped others survive and set us all up for future prosper on a ship that was otherwise sinking!

...I know where to get a big pile of Doritos for all that guacamole, btw... ;-)

😂 my standard of being productive is different. It's like being a multitasking robot. But couple days, it's been somewhat idle. That landslide situation is normal and my reaction is mostly " alright, what can I do to fix that?"

Send me the secret address xD I hope it's also cheap!

Maybe @ElTeamGordo will give you a more precise review of this guacamole but I just find that "chile serrano" also called "chile verde" is needed. You can put all the mix in "la licuadora" (blender machine) for a little while, but is not necessary. The greek yogurt sounds great.
I imagine you, enjoying that guacamole of yours.
Buen provecho!! :)

Thank you @leveuf, now I have to use my google skill to find chile verde :D and add another secret to my recipe book! Also, Having to enjoy it myself, I was definitely savoring a huge bowl of it.

But that must not be difficult, as it looks Delicious!! :)

A big hug, @Macchiata, and good vibes always for your studies, the projects and life!!

Thank you!! Check out my other recipe :D just in case you need a new hobby!

Crazy but I actually added plain greek yoghurt.

I think this is unique English.

Do you know this contest?

https://steemit.com/steem/@oracle-d/oracle-d-is-in-indonesia-and-netcoins-contest-video-message-22cec97ac398eest

Posted using Partiko iOS

@yasu24 it's been a while! but hey, I didn't know about that. Let me have a look!

By the way, Oracle-D seems to be looking for creator for Indonesian content. Is there anyone you would like to recommend? Or are you interested in yourself?

Posted using Partiko iOS

To be fair no yasu, I have classes and it's almost difficult to manage my time between steemit and university. I will let others do that for now :) I am sure there will be more things in the future!

I see. Thank you for telling me.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Hah I never ever made guacamole yet. And regarding avocados, yepp they're pricey, for us students :/

BUT!
Ca a year ago I've discovered in one shop here a pack o 5 of them being sold for price of 2.But they're super hard still, not ready to eat.So what I do, I always buy them a week in advance..and they just eventually get totally good and soft and tasty. So I basically always eat avocados from last week :)

But yeah, other than that I wouldnt be buying them.

mmmm that's actually an option too! I still need to learn how to spot a ripe avocados!
It was 1$ for two!!! and according to Indonesian currency, it is equal like a whole complete meal. Soooo for students here, eating guacamole is only on special occasion hahaha

Omg thats soooo cheap haha :D here normal price is like 2 for a piece :D and I'm getting 5 for 4$

Btw thx for teaching me a new word :) Ripe

Posted using Partiko Android

5 for 4$ is still a good price! I will explore more recipes with avocados because, I am trying to be more vegan :D

Yepp yepp it's student friendly :D ohhh then check one of my favorite steemians @evecab and join her vegans discord.. I've heard they're pretty big group, you might find some cool contents and challenges there :)

Posted using Partiko Android

Jajaja just saw this @macchiata. I've been AFK. But it looks good. And yeah the yoghurt it's a little weird for me but people of the world seem to like it.

And @yasu24 is right, i heard the yoghurt thing from a british.

The Chile Serrano, as @laveuf said, its the most common chile here we just calle it chile verde. If you add 1 or 2, you will be fine. It's not to hot. Also the jalapeño could be fine or those red peppers (as far as i know common in Asia) would do the trick.

Traditionally you just mash everything together, the blender use with the guac is an american invention.

Overall I approve the Guacamole recipe from @macchiata

And yes avocados are expensive even here in México.

Ahaha. Thank you!

Posted using Partiko iOS

there was jalapeno! but I can't really stand its spiciness. Alright, next I will make another mexican dishes :D and you have to review it!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70351.33
ETH 3563.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.72