Potato soup to save some money.

in #food7 years ago (edited)

Decided to eat potato soup to save some money.apaan.jpg

ingredients:

500 grams of potatoes
5 dl vegetable broth
2 ½ dl whipped cream
2 tablespoons of butter
1 yellow onion
1 lemon
½ teaspoon of thyme
white pepper
salt

Do this:

  1. Peel and dice the potatoes.
  2. Peel and chop onion well.
  3. Melt butter on medium heat in a saucepan.
  4. Add potatoes and onion and cook for 2 minutes.
  5. Pour into cream and lower the heat one step.
  6. Simmer for 12-15 minutes. **
  7. Add the vegetable broth and thyme.
  8. Tear off the lemon and squeeze the juice.
  9. Taste the soup with lemon, lemon peel, white pepper and salt.
  10. Serve and enjoy!
Sort:  

That soup looks fine to me, thanks for the recipe.
I really appreciate your step by step explanation of the cooking !
How much do you think will your potato soup cost if you buy the incredients in a normal supermarket ?
Thanks for sharing and all the best !

hmm probably something with 4-5$

Thanks for info ! Hmm..thats not that cheap :) I can do a nice Green Thai Curry for 2 Persons for that money !

Deppends where you live also, I live in Sweden second highest food prices in Europe. If I skip the lemon it would be cheaper for me.

yes sweden is expensive...

Is this really money saving?
Cream seems expensive to me.

Do you get the potatoes soft by the original sauteeing, or by the follow up simmer? Or is it a bit of both?

It does look very tasty. I haven't made potatoe soup in decades.

My mother used to use evaporated milk because she couldn't afford cream. It was always very creamy and delicous!

Well it's more money saving if you cook this in larger portions. I estimate I pay around 1$ serving and this recipe is for 3 servings. Well I let they simmer and taste if they are enough soft for my taste.

Looks simply amazing. Thanks

My mother made this when I was growing up....she called it "Poverty Soup" because she only made it when we didn't have money for groceries. I loved it though! Delicous, warm and so satisfying!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.031
BTC 60007.44
ETH 2590.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.61