You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Spruce Tree and Pine Pollen Cookies

in #food7 years ago

Wowwww!! I have plenty of both trees on our homestead and YES I would absolutely eat your cookies, I will be trying this @haphazard-hstead! You are AMAZING!!! :) This opens up a whole new world....

Sort:  

Conifers are so underappreciated for being good to eat. It's not every conifer that I'm using for needles or pollen. But pine pollen and spruce needles are good! I did use Douglas-Fir and Nobel Fir new growth in a recent salad -- and they are really good, too. Wild, Wild Salad.

Thanks for the link to your other article, I'll check it out for sure. You are making the most of the land and teaching others how to do it too, I love it! Our yard literally rains pine pollen, we have 7 massive white pine trees, it's gonna be cookies galore round here soon!

There is so much pollen that comes off pine trees! The key is finding branches low enough to the ground to get the little male cones off easily. There's no risk of running out of pine pollen, that's for sure! I'd sure like to hear from you how you like the pollen, once you harvest some next spring!

Yeah I have some with pretty low branches, and living in Nova Scotia, Canada, the season is just beginning! xoxoxoxxo The pollen hath arrived <3

Lucky you! Spring is the best season!

Yeah, we're a little bit late bloomers here, but not as far behind as other brrrrrrrrrrr... places in Canada :)

I wonder when our seasons will overlap. Your fall will happen sooner, too. So all your plants are on turbo-speed. It means you really have to get after it, once the spring arrives. Happy foraging! And it will be fun to read your taste reviews! :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 58020.27
ETH 2464.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.37