♨️🍴Sous Vide Cooking - Chicken and Pork Tenderloin bonus🍴 ♨️ (Photos and Cooking)steemCreated with Sketch.

in #food8 years ago (edited)

This was so easy ... 5 minutes prep-time and so tasty.

As I mentioned in my previous post on cooking with my new Anova Precision Cooker, I received this as a Christmas gift last month. I wasn't sure if this type of cooking was going to "work out for me" but I'm well on my way to loving it.

Check out my previous post To Sous Vide or Not to Sous Vide.

I decided to do two meat cooks tonight while we were hanging around watching football, I already had the container full of water on the counter, might as well not waste it.

I purchased organic chicken breast that I'm cooking for tomorrow and, the grocery store had a BOGO on pork tenderloin, so I'm cooking both and saving some for later in the week. Makes Monday night dinner much easier!

Chicken Just Right
Ingredients:

  • 2 large boneless chicken breast (I try to get organic whenever possible)
  • 2 teaspoons of extra virgin olive oil
  • 1 teaspoon of garlic salt
  • fresh ground pepper

Directions:

  • Fill cooking vessel with hot water
  • Set the sous vide cooker to 146 ℉ and set for 2 hours.
  • Put one chicken breast and 1/2 of the other ingredients each in a separate bag (you can use whatever seasoning works for you)
    I have a vacuum sealer but you can use freezer zipper lock bags - just get all the air out
  • Once the water is at temperature, place the bags in the water bath - use binder clips to hold the bags in place
  • Go watch TV, read a book, or relax, the Sous Vide will take care of the rest and the app will let you know when the chicken is ready. If you're not nearby when the time is up, that's ok, the sous vide will keep the food warm until you return.

Preheat the water - here I was using the wifi app



Season the chicken




Vacuum Sealing - you can use Freezer Zipper Bags as well




In the water bath





Browned the outside of the chicken in a hot pan with some olive oil for 2-3 minutes. The chicken is done perfectly, not dry or stringy.


Sliced it up - All done


Served with Amy's @amy-goodrich -Linguini recipe I found on Steemit!




The best thing is you can put the fully cooked food in the fridge right in the cooking bag. When your ready to serve, you remove from the fridge and prepare depending on your recipe. If you want to make chicken salad, just chill the chicken and shred it. If you are adding chicken to another dish, put the chicken in a hot grill pan for 2 minutes a side, then slice for your dish. You can use the juices in the cooking bag to make a quick sauce and spoon over the meat after a quick sear. All great options and easy when you have the meat already cooked.


On to the pork tenderloin
Ingredients:

  • 2 pork tenderloins
  • 2 teaspoons of extra virgin olive oil or pats of butter
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • fresh ground pepper
    Directions:
  • Fill cooking vessel with hot water (since i just finished the chicken...this was already accomplished)
  • Set the sous vide cooker to 135℉ or 140 ℉ (135 will be a bit more rare) and set for 2 hours
  • Put each pork loin in a separate cooking bag and split the other ingredients
  • Once the water is at temperature, place both bags in the water bath - use binder clips to hold the bags in place


I put one of these finished pork loins in the fridge and the other in the freezer. I'll update the post when we actually eat the pork loin!



Hope you enjoyed, give sous vide cooking a try!
Please follow me if you appreciated my post!

All Images @lrich Canon EOS Rebel T6i with: Tamron 18-250mm f/3.5-6.3 Di II LD Aspherical Macro Lens

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60638.91
ETH 2449.26
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52