Cauliflower "Rice" Sushi

in #food6 years ago

IMG_7521.jpg

My friend who recently moved to LA raved to me about a new sushi spot she tried. Instead of rice, the sushi rolls were made with cauliflower rice. My first thought was how is that possible? I needed to see for myself so I decided to make some sushi. To my surprise, it actually worked! It's definitely much more work than regular sushi but for those who are looking for an alternative to rice, this is perfect.

Cauliflower Sushi

makes 4 rolls

  • medium sized cauliflower
  • 1 small cucumber, cut into thin strips
  • 2 carrots, cut into thin strips
  • soy sauce
  • rice vinegar
  • wasabi
  • pickled ginger

To make the cauliflower rice, cut the cauliflower into florets. You want about 650g of florets. Place the cauliflower into a food processor and pulse into smaller pieces, resembling rice. Place into a large sauté pan and cook until just tender. Let the cauliflower cool and using some paper towels or a dish towel, squeeze the excess water from the cauliflower.

IMG_7513.jpg

The cauliflower is ready when it's dry enough that when squeezed, it will hold its shape. Traditional sushi rice is seasoned with rice vinegar, sugar and some salt. I did not want to add any extra moisture to the cauliflower so I only season it with some salt.

IMG_7514.jpg

Now we are ready to assemble the sushi. You can use any type of filling for the sushi rolls. I chose to use vegetables.

IMG_7516.jpg

Place a piece of seaweed on the sushi mat and cover half of the seaweed with cauliflower rice. You want the cauliflower rice about 1/8" thick. Neatly layer the vegetables in the center of the cauliflower.

IMG_7517 (1).jpg

Lift the end of the nori with the cauliflower and carefully roll it over the filling, pressing down as you roll. Lightly dampen the edge of the nori with water to seal the roll.

IMG_7518 (1).jpg

To cut the sushi, use a sharp knife and gently trim the edges off the roll. Cut the roll into 4-6 pieces. I sprinkled some crushed sesame seeds and hemp seeds on top of the rolls. Since the cauliflower rice is unseasoned except for some salt, I added some rice vinegar to the soy sauce for the vinegary element that is found in traditional sushi. Now you just need some sake!

IMG_7519.jpg

Sort:  

I usually make with rice but will try cauliflower someday when I have more time.

The rice version is so much easier, hahah. I really like your wire wrap pendants. They are super fun and unique. Thank you @heyheyhen.

Yes, rice may be definitely easier plus fill you up faster =) thank you! I appreciate your comment on my wire wrapped pendant =)

Wow Looks Fantastic! I'm getting hungry! :)

How was the traditional Sunday pork stew at the restaurant that has around for over 100 years? Thanks so much @world-travel-pro.

It was fantastic! Thanks for asking :)

Healthy way to have sushi! Low carb option that we should consider and try to make once. Thanks for the post @loveself

It came out well but I think I prefer the traditional sushi with rice. I am just a rice girl! Thank you!

Very interesting idea @loveself! I do have a sushi recipe that I have been trying to make but I feel as it requires a lot of time. And I not even talking about rice sushi but regular.

Will eventually make it happen, post and then take on a bigger job;)

Making regular sushi does take some time but once you get the hang of making them, it gets easier. Thank you @sweetsandbeyond.

Yummm I love the idea of using cauliflower instead of rice ♥ Thanks so much for sharing this yummy recipe with us. I included it to my favourite 5 of the week here: https://steemit.com/food/@isshappy/iss-happy-s-5-favorite-vegan-steemit-recipes-of-the-week-6 I wish you a great weekend!!! :)

Thank you for your support @isshappy! I'm thrilled to be included in your favorite 5 of the week. You have a terrific weekend too!

I'm craving sushi so bad! Nice job 😀

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 65814.16
ETH 3444.84
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64