Back-to-Life Homemade Oatmeal (Original Recipe with Pictures)steemCreated with Sketch.

in #food8 years ago (edited)

There are mornings when you wake up after what feels like running a marathon or being beaten up with a stick all night. I have a very vivid dream-life, and sometimes I wake up so tired, I don't feel like getting out of bed at all. Especially when the temperature is below zero! Still, the life awaits, and you need to find some inspiration to join the day. For me, it is the thought of warm, sweet homemade oatmeal porridge. It feels like a mother's hug, honestly, and it has all the ingredients that can push you back into a healthy and productive state of mind. If you have children, than I don't know of a more simple, tasty and healthy meal for the beginning of the day.

You'll need some oats and milk - this is the basis. Now, you can put in whatever you have around the kitchen, and this morning, I had some almonds, dried cranberries and a banana. For spices, I used turmeric, cinnamon, honey and butter. Cardamom would fit here perfectly, but unfortunately I left my jar back at my other home.

One small cup of oats is enough for one person. I like to put three cups of milk to one cup of oats - I like them juicy. Mix it up in a pot and cook until the milk starts boiling. Add some more milk if necessary.

Cranberries and turmeric should be added while cooking - that way, the cranberries will become softer, and turmeric will taste better if it gets dissolved in warm milk.

Meanwhile, crush the almonds. There is a neat little trick for almonds if you have time, and you don't like the way their skin tastes. You can put them in a small pot with water and cook until it starts boiling, and then some more. After that, take them out, wait until they are cold enough to handle and squeeze them out of their skins. You'll get white almonds that are a bit soft and creamy. Very nice. Still, this morning, I just crushed them over a cut up banana, adding a bit of cinnamon on top.

When the oats are cooked, pour the porridge over almonds and bananas. Add a bit of butter and a spoon of honey - deliciousss. Mix it all up.

And there, your super-healthy, super-tasty breakfast is ready! Enjoy it with some sugarless Turkish coffee for contrast, and start your day jumping up and down joyfully!

Sort:  

@lonilush great recipe
you should just use 4 tags and maybe join this

There will be a new theme announcement tomorrow -

Hey @englishtchrivy, thanks for the tip! Yeah, I'll join for sure :D

@lonilosh - here's the new theme announcement just please scroll till the bottom to make sure your entry qualifies.

Thanks, I was looking for it!

I have oats, milk, banana, etc every morning. I don't cook it though. I once saw my friend eating uncooked oats with milk and couldn't believe it. I tried it, and then never looked back.

Really?? It does sound shocking :)) I like the creaminess and warmth, but now I'm intrigued, I'll be trying this, thanks!

Hope you enjoy it. Some people are naturally more porridge people, but I like the extra bite from the raw oats. And I'm too lazy to heat it up 😊

Beautiful food posts. Keep these coming!!

Hey there, thanks :D

Nice! I often have oats for breakfast, but usually I add it to yogurt, as I don't have the time to cook it in the morning. I should definitely try your version sometime!

Oats are the best :) Yeah, definitely try, I promise it will make your belly feel warm and happy :) Thanks for commenting btw :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 67958.74
ETH 3273.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65