Gluten Free Meal - Eggy Fried Tapioca Leaves, Anyone?

in #food5 years ago (edited)

Hey everyone! Blessed weekend to you!

For those who has seen my post this week, you would have noticed that I actually tried out making salted egg sauce for the first time!

Some of you actually asked me what would I do with it; does it function as just a dip or a sauce base for something else?

So today, I'd like to show you my gluten free brunch that I have made for myself on a lazy weekend (plus I am recovering from cough)

Last week I was blessed by my office cleaner with home grown (organic) tapioca leaves. Most of the people usually would only harvest for the tapioca / cassava roots for making starchy desserts; but who would have thought that the leaves are also edible?

Like the roots, it is actually quite tough to eat if it is cooked from fresh; so how do we make it more digestible? According to my office cleaner who originates from Indonesia, she usually boils it first with salt that can be set aside, frozen in the freezer / fridge.

She actually gave me a bulk of boiled leaves (because she harvested the entire back yard she acquired since it was deserted for replanting) and told me that I can use that for oxtail soup later if needed.

So I gave a little twist to it.

Present to you, Fried Tapioca Leaves with Egg and Carrot

(then mixed with a teaspoon of salted egg sauce paste)

I finely shredded the cooked leaves and set the pan to heat up. As I know that these leaves pretty much serve no extra nutrients except the high fiber (because it was pre-cooked) I have added freshly sliced carrots into the mix.

In this preparation actually cook the carrots first as they are fresh and once they are slightly soft, I have added the cold shredded leaves in.

To add some protein into the mix, I used 2 eggs as this is my breakfast and lunch meal.

Because the leaves were blanched with only a little bit of salt and it doesn't really care much taste to it. If you prefer a little more taste (and you do not have the salted egg sauce) you can dash a bit of Himalayan Pink Salt (which brings in a tad of sweetness to its due to its mineral contents). I added a little more paprika just to have some spice to it and stir fry it until the entire egg has covered the whole portion.

Right before serving, I turn off the heat and added a teaspoon (or less) of my pre-made salted egg sauce to just bring some extra taste. You can always opt it out for a healthier version.

So here it is, my brunch and my screen name. This was adopted during my tryouts with #cookwithus some time back and I think this is still quite a nice addition to it.

It's already Saturday and I suppose tasty Tuesday may be out of my league, but oh well let me go check out their requirements again and see.

This cooking experience is super easy if you already have the ingredients prep before hand and this can be one of those lazy meals for a lazy day, but still instilled with some nutrients (like from the carrots and the eggs) and you have decided to go gluten free for a change.


木薯叶炒蛋,你们有试吃过吗?

说实话,如果我公司的印尼大姐没有分享关于木薯"菜" 的话我可不知道是可以吃的。

就是因为正好她那野空地转变成小菜园正好有木薯大收货她才能宽容地赠送我们一大堆木薯叶和木薯来试尝。

木薯叶通常都是蛮难以消化的,但是如果先灼好冰藏的话,不但耐,也可以用来煮食。

她说过特别使用来煲牛骨汤或加椰浆的话会来的好吃。

但是我就狡变一下,成为木薯叶炒蛋了。

再加上我上回所做的咸蛋酱,只需一小茶匙,混一混会来得不同味道。

不过你如果比较注重健康的话,那咸蛋酱就免了吧。加点喜马拉雅盐就好啦。

Sort:  

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

Thank you so much for being an awesome Partiko user! We have just given you a free upvote!

The more Partiko Points you have, the more likely you will get a free upvote from us! You can earn 30 Partiko Points for each post made using Partiko, and you can make 10 Points per comment.

One easy way to earn Partiko Point fast is to look at posts under the #introduceyourself tag and welcome new Steem users by commenting under their posts using Partiko!

If you have questions, don't feel hesitant to reach out to us by sending us a Partiko Message, or leaving a comment under our post!

This post has been voted on by @acropolis in collaboration with the project @templo.

videotogif_2019.02.15_20.29.34.gif

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63453.92
ETH 3283.73
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.89