Sort:  

Yeah, I know all about failures when it comes to Kombucha.
I used to get nasty mold all the time and was ready to pack it in.
Until I started reading more into it and made a tiny change: moved the jars into a different area.
And it worked! These days, the kids even help and come up with new things to try.

I just got mold on my scoby hotel for forgetting about it in my kitchen. Good thing I have another lol

Oh no! I hope it wasn't because I mentioned it, lol. I believe the reason why mine got mold was because of temperatures fluctuating too much (from cool to very warm when the heat comes on, Ireland is great for that...sigh), when I moved it to the pantry where the temperature pretty much stays the same, they were fine. But that's what I love about it too, I learned so much from making mistakes and am still learning. everyone's experiences are so much different with it. Have you ever tried to make Jun, with honey instead of sugar? I haven't yet, but very curious about it.

I haven't but the research I've done on it has told me that method doesn't produce jun. Maybe I should experiment but everything I know tells me that shouldn't work lol.

I just ordered the scoby for it online...let's see what happens. I'd prefer to use raw honey instead of sugar and it's supposed to be a bit milder. From what I've seen the temperature can be a bit lower than with kombucha. The only issue I have is space, since you're not supposed to have too many fermenting things too close together and I also have kimchi and kefir.

Yeah space is an issue I deal with too. If you ordered it there's a good chance it's actually jun, so I'm excited for you. it's got a lot shorter fermentation time and higher alcohol content I've read.

Yes, I've read the same. The seller I ordered from has both, kombucha scoby and jun. I don't know any better than that it's two different things. Shorter fermentation is good because I'm not very patient, especially when I'm running out. More alcohol....well, less driving then I guess :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 54118.47
ETH 2272.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.34