Picanha Steak Recipe: Option One!

in #food6 years ago

DSC_0025.jpeg

In my eyes there are only two real ways to prepare picanha and of course I have my favorite. First I share my second favorite, which is in slices like steaks. I'll share my favorite way next!

DSC_0001.jpeg

This was a corn fed picanha likely from the United States. Here we pay more for corn fed and less for grass fed, go figure! Picanha from the market is generally 130 pesos a kilo, but has a lot less fat!

DSC_0003.jpeg

I started by scoring the outside, somewhat like a ham in a criss cross pattern.

DSC_0004.jpeg

LOOK AT THAT FAT <3

DSC_0005.jpeg

I generally salt it and leave it whole overnight in the fridge, but this time...

DSC_0006.jpeg

This time I sliced it....

DSC_0011.jpeg

Salted heavily and set on some racks in the bottom of a pan, then the steaks on the rack. This went into the fridge overnight.

DSC_0017.jpeg

It looks like this the next day, the gray spots are fine, just where the meat has oxidized. I've noticed that I always get gray spots when I "dry age" a steak overnight, never changes the taste and I've never gotten sick from it. My internet searches tell me that it's normal and so does my body.

DSC_0022.jpeg

Grilled until charred and medium rare on the inside.

So good, best covered with salt and butter. Stay tuned for the BEST way to prepare this steak

Check out the links below for more like this one!



In case you missed them, some of my recent posts:



Hi there, if you're new to my blog here on Steemit check out this for more information on who we are and how we got here.

Sort:  

Ow that looks good!

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63267.39
ETH 2572.65
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.80