Mashed Potato Pancakes Recipe and Food Photo Shoot

in #food7 years ago

When I think of potato pancakes I remember my childhood where my aunt showed me how to make them out of mashed potatoes leftover from some holiday party the night before, likely New Years Eve knowing her. I've made them all sorts of ways at this point including with raw shredded potatoes but I'll always have a soft spot for this crispy buttery pillows.

These ones are a little smaller in size and I'm not sure the method is exactly the same but they taste right and that's what matters.

Starts with leftover potatoes(full recipe below) in a bowl, don't bother to heat them up just break them down.

Season with salt and garlic powder to taste.

Cover generously with flour.

Then mix that in.

Add one egg.

Mix until just combined. Form balls in your hands and dip in flour. Flatten and place on a plate while you do the rest of the mix. I only had a small amount of potatoes to work with so scale this up in terms of ingredients if you're making more. This could easily serve 3 people as a side for breakfast as I prepared them.

Heat a pan with some butter to medium high and add the potato pieces. Fry on each side until golden brown. Season to taste and eat.

Ingredients

1.5 c cold leftover mashed potatoes
1 egg
1/4 c all purpose flour, can be switched for any gluten free flour
garlic powder
salt and pepper
butter for frying

How It's Done:

  1. Start by breaking up the mashed potato into a bowl.
  2. Season with salt, pepper and garlic powder to taste. (These mashed potatoes had a little too much pepper, so I left it. Compensate if you need to.)
  3. Dust with flour, I used about a quarter cup for the amount of potatoes I had. This scales easily.
  4. Mix until just combined, add the egg.
  5. Mix until just combined, try not to overmix. Gluten free works well here because you're not looking for the action of the gluten. So just use a mild flavored blend or flour if you switch.
  6. Roll into balls and dip into flour. Then smash into disks and set aside on a plate while the rest are shaped.
  7. Heat a frying pan to medium high with a good layer of butter in the bottom. Add the potato pancakes and cook on each side until golden brown and crispy, serve immediately.

DSC_0115.jpg

Check out some of my other recent posts!
Zibu Copycat Pasta Recipe and Food Photo Shoot
Acapulco Sunsets: Early Moons and @modprobe's Mansion
Restaurants of Acapulco: Zibu Mexthai Fancy Restaurant Part 2

Sort:  

wow ! another food photos are very nice and testy food .
thanks for sharing.

Cooking is all about people. Food is maybe the only universal thing that really has the power to bring everyone together. No matter what culture, everywhere around the world, people get together to eat.

And food has a way of breaking barriers, even in conflicts in my country we eat then resolve issues , food tend to lessen the burden

Thanks for sharing your recipe, they look very delicious. I invite you to my profile so you can see more about desserts and different recipes.
We are reading

:O hola que rico ... me gustaria que te pases por mi blog y veas este post https://steemit.com/food/@karchady/la-candela-food-truck

thank for the recipe now for some practise when i get home, if it turns out good it will be posted , if you see a post then it didnt go down well

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 66824.20
ETH 3503.41
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.62