Zibu Copycat Pasta Recipe and Food Photo Shoot

in #food7 years ago (edited)

You ever get served something and just look at it and think..."I could do that better"? Anyone else? Just me? The only thing that was served that night at Zibu that I had that thought about was the mexthai pasta, which was simpler in flavor than what I made and sporting different pasta. I used what I had, guys....or rather what @modprobe had.

I love doing the step by step recipe photos but I've found myself frustrated at the quality. This is largely due to the fact that I've got an orange kitchen with a painted yellow ceiling and use a warm red hued lightbulb instead of a blue. This became apparent when I cooked this copycat dish of the pasta served at Zibu at @modprobe's the other day. I've now determined to paint my ceiling in the kitchen and change the lightbulb to help attempt to combat the bright orange tiled walls.

The one thing they seriously got right with this pasta is that slab of ashed goat cheese you see there. In the picture I shared of the pasta from the restaurant that cheese was already mixed in so I felt almost obliged to recreate it.

See what I mean? Better lighting, look at that coloration. I just started this with butter and onions in a large frying pan. I also started water with a little salt to boil for the pasta.

I also added a little mushroom as well before adding the chicken. There will be a printer friendly recipe below.

It screams no longer but it still barely works. I've advised @modprobe have me help him pick out a new stove for maximum capability.

Ingredients

1 box pasta
1 jar tomato sauce
1 can peeled tomatoes
3 cremini mushrooms
1 shallot
8 garlic cloves
parsley
salt
garlic powder
butter

How It's Done:

  1. Start by filling a large pot with water and adding a little salt to help it boil faster. Put it on high on the stove.
  2. Melt some butter in a large frying pan while chopping onions and garlic.
  3. While those cook, chop the mushrooms very finely and add those too.
  4. Chop 2 chicken breasts into small pieces and add those, cooking until slightly golden and cooked thoroughly.
  5. Add the tomato sauce and canned tomatoes.
  6. Season with salt, parsley and garlic powder to taste.
  7. Allow to simmer until the noodles are done. When the water starts boiling add the noodles, this will happen at some point while making the sauce, just pay attention. Stir a few times to keep the pasta separated.
  8. Drain the pasta put it back in the pan, pouring the sauce on top. Toss to mix and serve with a sprinkle of Parmesan and a slab of ashed goat cheese.

Edit: So I posted this on Facebook tagging the restaurant in the post. They liked it and commented with this, and I thought it was so good I better just copy it and edit it in here. Here you go, a tip from the pros: If you grill your goat cheese a little you are going to love the twist :)

Smiley face and all, how cool, thanks for that tip!

Give it a try and if you do, let me know how it goes! Thanks for following and supporting us, until next time!

Check out some of my other recent posts!
Acapulco Sunsets: Early Moons and @modprobe's Mansion
Restaurants of Acapulco: Zibu Mexthai Fancy Restaurant Part 2
Restaurants of Acapulco Zibu Restaurant Part 1

Sort:  

That looks delicious. I have to give it a try.

Cooking is all about people. Food is maybe the only universal thing that really has the power to bring everyone together. No matter what culture, everywhere around the world, people get together to eat.

hey @lily-da-vine,
another foods looks are very delicious..
thanks for sharing.
cheers'''

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 66618.20
ETH 3498.13
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63